therapeutic photography

therapeutic photography by serola
therapeutic photography, a photo by serola on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Previously I discovered a concept of ‘photo therapy’. Then I found a better one for amateur photographers, and that is ‘therapeutic photography‘, which is something like: ".. the purpose of these projects range from personal growth and insight, creative artistic statement, increased personal and social agency, as a catalyst for political or social change or community-strengthening."

16 thoughts on “therapeutic photography

  1. Because I do most of my photography in natural settings that I find relaxing in their own right, to me photography is relaxing. However it is interesting for me to see what people in urban do photographically.

  2. Oops… I meant “in urban environments”, not just “in urban”. I wish WordPress would let visitors modify their comments. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Well, sometimes I feel myself like I’m some sort of lab rat in this urban landscape ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    And what comes to WP, couldn’t agree more. I tried to find a setting to make editing of comments possible, but couldn’t find such thing.

    • Sami, in the WordPress world if you click the “Reply” link on a comment, the person who made the original comment will be notified of your reply via the WordPress toolbar. If you reply to the comment by just adding a new comment (like in myopera), the original person won’t receive such notification.

      • Aha! Thanks for the tip Deb ๐Ÿ™‚ I have set reply levels for 3. So, where should I reply if when all those levels are used (someone is already on level 3, and I would like to reply to that).

      • Sami, there are a couple ways of doing that. I think a lot of WordPress bloggers make heavy use of the toolbar that you see at the top of the page after you’ve logged in. Toward the right (between “New Post” and your user name) there is a comment/notification bubble. When you have a new notification, this turns red. If you click on it, there is a dropdown list of your most recent notifications (typically “likes” and comments, but sometimes blog milestones). If you click on the items that are comment or replies to your comments, another window pops out with the text of the comment. Below the comment there is a link to reply to it. If you click that, you can reply to anything (in fact, that’s what I’m doing now). ๐Ÿ™‚ If you’ve set reply-levels to 3, I believe that additional replies will still show up, but they won’t be indented further.

        Another way that you can reply to comments at your own blog is via your dashboard. I haven’t been using this feature much, but recently I’ve just begun to realize how useful it can be. It lets you see all the comments at your blog, and if you click on the link to reply, it even brings up Word-processor-style buttons for adding formatting or links in your reply. Another feature is that it lets you see at a glance if there are comments that you haven’t replied to. Usually the most active posts comment-wise are the most recent ones. But people to comment on some pretty old posts at my blog, and it’s easier to forget to reply to these. (I think you there’s a setting that will keep people from commenting on old posts, but I don’t mind if they do. The SPAM filter here is fantastic). Like I said, I haven’t been using this much, but I think I’m going to be using it more and more.

      • Thank you very much Deb ๐Ÿ™‚ That first tip I already found out, but the second one, to use dashboard is just great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You can’t edit comments, but anyway I see photography as a way of keeping me relaxed, breaking up the day, letting me take time and so on. It’s the one time I have time to think, but don’t have to ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • In one way it is also good one can’t edit the comments ๐Ÿ˜€ That makes us more careful and maybe slow down peeps from writing nonsense or impolite comments ๐Ÿ™‚

      • As much as I have enjoyed the community at My Opera, I really like the technology that has gone into the WordPress blogging platform. For instance at the Shoot-and-tell group, lots of the comments were emoticons like :up:, :star:, :cheers:, etc. The point was just to let the person know that you checked out the post and that you liked it. But you can accomplish the same here with the “like” button. But that’s just one little thing. The notification system here works great, the dashboard works well (but it takes a while to get used to), the WordPress reader works well, SPAM filtering works well, and so on.

  5. I like the term “therapeutic photography”. It was always so enjoyable taking photos with my old Pentax then getting the film developed. I was thrilled when they came out with one hour developing! I can’t afford it anymore.

    You could say the same for painting/drawing. I think if I hadn’t taken brush and paint to canvas during the time my mom was dying of cancer, I would have had a breakdown I think. I created about 30 abstract paintings. Very cathartic.

    You know I keep looking at that giant insect overlooking your sofa. If I sat there, I’d have to move it. LOL! I’m paranoid I guess. I don’t even like sitting with my back to a window in a restaurant. Really though, what is it? I can’t tell.

    • The “giant insect” is heavy duty Manfrotto tripod, and there’s a photography lamp attached to it ๐Ÿ˜€ This tripod weights something like 5 kilos. So, I do not use it for photography very often. Most of the time is just a stand for this photography lamp, and I also use it hang clothes and bags ๐Ÿ™‚

Reply

