a quick and dirty picture enhancement


Somewhat accidentally I discovered an editing method to enhance the picture. Here are the step by step instructions for GIMP:

1) Duplicate layer.
2) Run ‘Colors>Auto>Equalize’ for the top layer.
3) Switch layer mode to ‘Value’ for the top layer.
4) Try to change the top layer opacity to find a pleasing amount.

This definitely does not work for all pictures but quite often it is a very quick method to enhance the contrasts and colors. Finally just merge the layers and do your usual magic.

12 thoughts on “a quick and dirty picture enhancement

  1. Nice colors you got in this image. Will try it when I think I have a suitable image. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nice tip!To accomplish something similar, I have been using the "Advanced Tone Mapping" Script. I use the default values for the options. Once I run it, it creates a new layer above my original layer. At this point I'll alter the opacity of the top layer if I want to reduce the effect, or I'll erase through portions of the top layer, if I only want to apply the effect to certain areas.In particular it is good for giving dark areas of an image some "pop", or bringing out some texture in what originally was a uniform-looking area.

  3. Thank you, Deb :happy: That 'Advanced Tone Mapping' (ATM) is what I've been looking literally for years. In this case it does not work so dramatically as does my 'quick and dirty' method, but especially because ATM only enhances a little, it is much more suitable for all kinds of pictures. EDIT: Here I used 'Advanced Tone Mapping' script where 'Copies of merged layer' set for value 2. Then I added my previous 'quick and dirty' trick: http://my.opera.com/serola/blog/2012/05/27/quick-and-dirtyAnd finally increased the 'Colors>Hue-Saturation>Saturation' a little.Much more sophisticated, I think ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I like what you did! One of the think that I like about the ATM version is that the building in the background isn't as bright as in the topmost photo.Since I do most of my photography while hiking, I take a lot of forest photos. Often the leaves look dark and flat in the photo, but they didn't seem that way to me in real life. I've found that touching up these photos with ATM boosts the contrast in these leafy areas just enough to make them pleasing to the eye.I've been experimenting with the edit that you described in your original post as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. :yes: I just intuitively tried what this 'Copies of merged layer' setting does on ATM, and it worked exactly as I thought: adjusted the level of brightness added on dark areas.I immediately took "Automated Teller Machine" into use ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Looking very good! I never really looked at the underlying process the script uses, so you have surpassed me. :cheers:

  7. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    I'm saving for small good camera…I'll like my Nikon, but to big and heavy things to carry everywhere.

    Consider either Canon G-series or smaller Panasonic LUMIX series cameras ๐Ÿ™‚ Based on personal experience they are usually good pocket size cameras for every day use.

  8. I had Panasonic Lumix camera, but worked on battery an easily ran out…anyway thank's for the tip…:up: ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. I'm satisfied to use photoscape and some effect and tricks, if the pict's. is so very bad taken. I'm glad I found your black border, it gives unussual deep color effect, so I don't need to add some darken colours…I'm saving for small good camera…I'll like my Nikon, but to big and heavy things to carry everywhere…:)

  10. There are of course good and bad models on every trademark. It can be quite a challenge to find a good one… I usually read reviews like dpreview: http://www.dpreview.com/They usually offer plenty of useful information also on such things as battery life.

Reply

