Gradient selection with quickmask

Today I discovered 'quickmask'. On bottom left corner of the picture area on GIMP there is so called 'quickmask' button. To use it first make sure you select all: 'Select > All'. Then just click that quickmask button. Now the picture should turn into reddish mask.

EDIT: For some reason the image does not always turn reddish when mask becomes applied. Do not let that bother but just continue to next stage.

Next stage is to decide what you select, and for this you can use 'Blend tool' with different 'Gradients'. In this example I picked 'Radial Gradient' because I want to treat the edges differently than the center of the image. When you are done you get the reddish mask blending gradually from darker red to lighter.
Now all you need is to click the quickmask button again, and the mask turns into selection. Now make sure you get selected what you wanted. If just the border of circle flickers, then circle it is what you get. But if you choose 'Select > Invert', then it is the area between the circle and edges of the image.
Finally you can for example duplicate the layer, run 'Filters > Artistic > Photocopy…' for the edge part of the image, and then turn the overlapping layer to 'Soft light' layer mode. As a result you get nice white vignetting (edges are lighter than center of the image).
7 thoughts on “Gradient selection with quickmask

  1. Oh, one odd thing. When I clicked the quick mask button the second time, instead of being turned into a circular selection, I got a torus or donut selection. Since I wanted to try the white vignetting, I added the unselected, central circle to the torus selection and then continued following your directions. But I was surprised it did this.

  2. Here's are my results from this photo editing lab. :DThis is the original photo. It is a prehistoric, Native American artifact from around where I live.After following the steps that you outlined above, here are the results of doing a white vignette.And after looking at the white vignette for awhile, I thought it might look nice in sepia.Thank you for explaining the process. About the only time I ever do anything with masks is when a plugin is doing the thinking for me. I feel really ignorant about them myself.

  3. If you get torus or donut instead, then it does not matter. Just proceed to selection phase. Then make sure, which one is actually selected, the center (circle) or outer area (donut). the line of selection will blink to show you what is selected. Then just inverse selection if needed.And :yes: I like this white vignetting :up:

  4. I'm so happy with all of this discussion I could learn so much, I'm not that so experience about photography and by looking a picture that's very helpful…I will learn more, I'm sure for that, I just need more time and understanding, thank you all…:yes: :happy: :up: You're all angel and helpful…:angel: :angel:

Reply

