A poor man can’t afford cheap tools

But there's also a limit for buying anything too expensive. So, I finally got a new mobile phone. Last one I had was very cheap ZTE Blade. It was my first touch with Android operating system, and I must say I learned to like Android. I'm sure iPhones and Windows phones offer also equal user experience, but Android seems to be fine for me, especially because I already have put my head into Google clouds.

The problem with the ZTE Blade was that it just had not enough memory for installing software. I soon ran out of space. I could of course have rooted after warranty time, to get some of the software installed onto external memory card. But I just hate putting too much effort on anything geeky.

So, I bought an inexpensive Sony Xperia U. After considering between many other manufacturers and phone models I finally came into conclusion that I no longer need any of those best mobile phone cameras on market like Samsung Galaxy III. Instead I need something as small as ZTE Blade was.

But it is not only the size that matter on mobile phones. Sony (Ericsson) has always made good usability solutions like adding an extra camera hard key on side of the Android phones, and putting an attachment for lanyard (hand strap).

But since I still did not bought the most expensive, there are some drawbacks. The battery does not last very long. At some point I considered buying Motorola RAZR MAXX just because of long lasting battery. Another problem occurred is that for some reason Opera Mini does not run on Sony Xperia U. Well, I can now use also Opera Mobile, which is actually one reason why I bought a new phone: for a software that requires more memory. Now on Opera Mobile I can finally open also animations like weather radars.

WARNING: I first did a mistake and went to update the OS from Gingerbread (Android 2.3) to Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0). It turned out a bad decision because after updating WiFi stopped working completely. After reading though Sony support forums it turned out I'm not alone with this issue. Moreover, similar problems seem to be on several other Sony Xperia models. Therefore I recommend considering whether to upload or not. At least read through Sony Xperia supprot forums first to find out how update works for your Xperia.

Luckily I was able to get my Xperia U downgraded back to Gingerbread at local warranty service. I only lost several hours spent for installing all the software, because of course I now had to do that all again after factory reset.

EDIT after downgrade: Turned out something just went wrong with the update. I probably should have used Sony PC Companion instead of Sony's Update Service software. I actually did try PC Companion at first but it didn't recognize the phone. Now after restarting my PC it found the phone, and installing the update was a success.

But in general I'm now happy with my new Android phone. It is small enough to carry in a pocket, fits nicely on palm of my hand, feels secured thanks to hand strap, and is good enough even for casual photography.

36 thoughts on “A poor man can’t afford cheap tools

  1. Congrats on your new phone :cheers:How's the camera on this in comparison to the Blade? I was surprised to read that Opera Mini isn't supported, but glad Opera Mobile is, it's the full web on your palm. I still use Mini a lot and sometimes Mobile when I notice I have good internet speed. πŸ˜‰

  2. Camera is somewhat same. The ZTE Blade models sold in Finland had 5 MB camera. On Xperia U it is the same: 5 MB. But there is LED flash on Xperia U, whereas on ZTE Blade there was no such thing.In general these cameras on Xperia phones does not perform well in twilight, but like said, I now have plenty of pocket cameras to grasp on: Olympus Tough and Canon G12. I always carry either one with me.I just submitted bug report for Opera Mini. So, hopefully it get fixed soon. Opera Mini is much faster to read forums and news, even if Opera Turbo used on Opera Mobile.

  3. :yes: :yes: :yes: :cheers:

    I first did a mistake and went to update the OS from Gingerbread (Android 2.3) to Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0). … At least read through Sony Xperia supprot forums first to find out how update works for your Xperia.

    Or you could have asked me ;)It seems Sony designs a modified version of new Android OS for each model and rolls out through their own update system WIR (when it's ready). I think it is also recommended you do it though "Sony PC Companion" installed on your PC. My experience of upgrading from 2.3 to 4.0 on my Xperia Active was very smooth. Sorry to hear yours was a rough sailing.[Addendum]At http://talk.sonymobile.com/message/178141#178141

    Nov 23, 2012 11:50 AMIce Cream Sandwich roll out started…The SI-lists will no longer be available here, however ICS (Android 4.0) is still being rolled out. Please connect regularly to one of our software update tools to check for the latest software for your phone. For more information please go to: http://www.sonymobile.com/update and select your phone. If you are already running ICS (Android 4.0) you will receive a notification in your phone when new software is available.

  4. Tampere – 14 :faint: :sst: Congrats Sami to new phone :cheers:P. S. Try app PicsPlay Pro πŸ˜‰

  5. Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    P. S. Try app PicsPlay Pro

    I always seemed to take horrible photos with my old phone. I am under the impression that my new phone takes better photos, but now I never think to use it. :doh: Maybe if I got a new phone app I could encourage myself to experiment with it a little.

  6. I am glad that you like your new phone. I've been reasonably happy with Android, so like you when I got my new phone a month ago I got another Android too. I had been using Opera mini on my old phone and Opera Mobile which I side-loaded onto my Kindle Fire. But after using Opera all this time I'm now experimenting with some other browsers. My favorite feature on the Dolphin Browser it the fact that I can long press a link on a web page and immediately pass the link on to a "sharing app" without having to load the page in the browser. I do this so I can view pages using apps like Readability, Pocket, or Instapaper so I can view an article without loading the sidebar stuff. I've also been trying out Chromium on my phone and what I like best about it so far is how well it handles video.My old phone let me attach a strap but the new one has no place to attach one, and I confess that I miss the strap.

  7. Deb, there's a discussion thread in S&T forum about Android photography apps: http://my.opera.com/community/forums/topic.dml?id=1496992Sami has written a blog article for S&T on the same subject: http://my.opera.com/shootell/blog/2012/08/16/articles-on-photography-mobile-phone-photographyMy personal favourite is Photo Editor It's an ad-supported free app with a modest range of filters, basic editing options and rather a good resizing engine. It's able to reduce file size as well without much image degradation. It also allows you to keep, modify or remove EXIF, which is important for us shootandtellians. πŸ˜‰

  8. MM, thanks for posting the links on the cellphone apps. I will definitely check them out.

  9. MM, thanks for posting the links on the cellphone apps. I will definitely check them out.

  10. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    What about Nokia?

    For me Nokia is dead and buried after switching to Windows :rip: Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    Congrats Sami to new phone

    Thank you Michal :happy:Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    Try app PicsPlay Pro

    I will :up:Originally posted by debplatt:

    My favorite feature on the Dolphin Browser it the fact that I can long press a link on a web page and immediately pass the link on to a "sharing app" without having to load the page in the browser. I do this so I can view pages using apps like Readability, Pocket, or Instapaper so I can view an article without loading the sidebar stuff. I've also been trying out Chromium on my phone and what I like best about it so far is how well it handles video.

    I guess I should also try other browsers :DOriginally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    My personal favourite is Photo Editor

    And try that as well :yes:Thanks for comments and suggestions friends :happy:

  11. Originally posted by serola:

    I now tried the free version first and definitely going to buy the pro version T

    :yes:

  12. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    Or you could have asked me

    Okay, I did try Sony PC Companion at first, but it was not able to recognize Xperia U. Then I used Sony Update Service: http://www.sonymobile.com/global-en/tools/update-service/With Update Service everything seem to go smooth. I got Ice Cream Sandwich installed alright. But later on I found out WiFI was not working at all. It didn't even displayed any of the routers available around.So, therefore the warning, and especially for Xperia U, because based on forum I'm not alone with this. And that is why I will stick with Gingerbread until I'm sure there is going to be fix for this.Today I plucked in my Xperia U again to USB port on my Windows PC at work, and now suddenly also Sony PC Companion recognizes the phone and suggest update :eyes: But I do not dare to try before I find if it really would make a difference.

  13. Originally posted by debplatt:

    Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    P. S. Try app PicsPlay Pro

    I always seemed to take horrible photos with my old phone. I am under the impression that my new phone takes better photos, but now I never think to use it. :doh: Maybe if I got a new phone app I could encourage myself to experiment with it a little.

    :yes: :cheers: itΒ΄s funny! πŸ™‚

    I have Samsung SIII and Opera mini on EDGE connection doesnΒ΄t work well :awww:
    But on 3G connection worked well. Anyway I am using Opera Mobile because I have a good mobile internet tariff…

    I am using Opera browser especially for Opera Link (PC – Mobile)

    :cheers:

  14. Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    Try app PicsPlay Pro

    I now tried the free version first and definitely going to buy the pro version πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip :cheers:

  15. UPDATE: See the changes on article :up: I now have Ice Cream Sandwich (ANdroid 4.0) on my Xperia U with working WiFi :hat:

  16. Originally posted by serola:

    I now have Ice Cream Sandwich (ANdroid 4.0) on my Xperia U with working WiFi

    :hat: :cool:Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    My personal favourite is Photo Editor It's an ad-supported free app with a modest range of filters, basic editing options and rather a good resizing engine. It's able to reduce file size as well without much image degradation.

    I got the app last night, and my initial impressions are good. I opened a photo in my gallery with it (not a fresh photo, because then it would had to have occurred to me to take a photo with my phone… :doh:), and I was able to crop the photo, adjust the white balance levels using curves, and adjust a perspective distortion. I then flipped through the filters; I was impressed.My previous phone was running android 2.2, and my new phone started out with 4.0 and a couple weeks later updated itself to 4.1. One of the things that surprised me with the new version of android is that it apparently went to my Picasa Web account and downloaded all of my photos. It knew about the Picasa account because it naturally knows about my Google account and any Google service that I'm using. Still I was surprised it did this without asking or anything. Now I'm wondering if the Picasa photos on my phone are synced with the ones on the web. For instance, if I draw a mustache on a photo of someone using Photo Editor on my phone, will that change be propagated to the web? :confused:

  17. @Sami Happy to hear things are in order now. :happy: :hat: And, yes, you could still have asked me. And I would've said, 'I had the phone telling me to update the phone software first, then upgrade Android. So I suggest you wait until your phone tells you to upgrade.' :D@DebI think Google account Sync was already available in 2.3. You can disable or enable Sync options for each service. I only Sync Gmail between the server & phone. If you Sync with Picasa, I'd say the changes in your phone album would be reflected in your web album. But not entirely sure as I don't sync my pictures.BTW Deb. Have you checked out my first smartphone? It has the biggest & sexiest strap anchor, ever. πŸ˜€

  18. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    And I would've said, 'I had the phone telling me to update the phone software first, then upgrade Android. So I suggest you wait until your phone tells you to upgrade.'

    Maybe, maybe not :sherlock: I already knew in advance there is an update available for Xperia U. So, my guess is that something just went wrong when trying to use that Update Service software instead of Sony PC Companion.

  19. Originally posted by serola:

    For me Nokia is dead and buried after switching to Windows

    πŸ˜† It's your country production! Anyway, very nice your new phone, congratz and have fun with it…:up:

  20. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    It's your country production!

    Was… One can hardly call it Finnish product anymore, after moving all the production to China, sacking thousands peeps here in Finland, and selling the soul to Windows. They just did all too many mistakes, and therefore lost their leading position on markets. If there are any Nokia products I will buy anymore, they will be rubber boots πŸ˜€

  21. Originally posted by serola:

    Was… One can hardly call it Finnish product anymore, after moving all the production to China, sacking thousands peeps here in Finland, and selling the soul to Windows.

    :awww: I guess China is trying to over powering any country…who the hell! Originally posted by serola:

    If there are any Nokia products I will buy anymore, they will be rubber boots

    :yes: maybe it's good business and πŸ’‘ :up: Thank's 4 the article!

  22. 1 month ago i went with one of my friend's brother to buy Xperia U. That was the first time i actually experienced the new Xperia line up. Truly saying here. I loved the build quality and the Design (Sony was always good at designing phones). :)The phone is really fast because of its dual core processor. What i noticed before that the display is not much wide. Doesn't that bother you while browsing Internet/watching videos?Why don't you take a picture with your new phone and share with us here? :)By the way Congratzzz on your new phone! :cheers:

  23. Originally posted by jorjy27:

    Why don't you take a picture with your new phone and share with us here?

    This "swipe panorama" image I already took over a week ago shows well the quality of the camera:5MB camera can't do miracles and performs badly especially in low light. But this time I really thought it is more important to have phone that is compact enough than to have good camera in it. And that is because I have already started to carry quality compact camera with me everywhere. So, my phone camera days are more or less over. I now concentrate on shooting with full features cameras.And what comes to size of the screen, I admit it is very small compared to something Samsung Galaxy III, but it is perfect for me πŸ™‚ Xperia U is easy to use because it is not too big.

  24. Hello Dear [ adutthon1@yah oo.com ]Compliment of the season.I wish you a blessed day. greetings and love from me.I'm Adut a single, i wish to establish a friendship with you.Please communicate me at [ adutthon1@yah oo.com ] for more introduction OK. [ adutthon1@yah oo.com ] hope to hearing from you soon.

  25. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    Above spammer has been reported

    :awww: I don't even notice if there's spammer, all I know I've learned not to panic, it's just an hobby, so I've nothing to lost.:D :up: (MM)

  26. Thanks for your quick response to my messagebut i would like us to have more communication through our mail id [ adutthon1@yah oo.com ] for more introduction and fastest communication of acquaintance. also,To exchange our photo to each other and share life thoughts together to one another.

  27. Thanks for your quick response to my messagebut i would like us to have more communication through our mail id [ adutthon1@yah oo.com ] for more introduction and fastest communication of acquaintance. also,To exchange our photo to each other and share life thoughts together to one another.

  28. Good on ya, Zena :yes:And the spammer is gone, so I also deleted my reporting comment. That spammer was a creepy one, came to my site and left spam comment there, too.:down:

  29. Originally posted by serola:

    Opera Mini does not run on Sony Xperia U.

    latest Opera Mini 7.5.32193 seemed to fix the problems and now I can use also Opera Mini on Xperia U :hat:

Reply

