One day


Inspired by Mimi's Mum I decided to illustrate one day of my life as an amateur photographer. Recently I have noticed I take approximately 20 pictures per day, and out of them I approve 1 to 3 pictures. Sometimes I post only one picture at my daily pictures here at MyOpera and at Google+, and sometimes I pick 1 or 2 pictures to be published at my Shoot & Tell album, or in other albums of mine.

During film era I considered one out of ten as a good and acceptable rate of successful photography. Now on digital era the rate has only doubled for my surprise. I thought I would have started to take much more shots per one good picture just because it is so easy and inexpensive, but that does not seem to be the case. I suppose I somehow think economically like a scrooge.

31 thoughts on “One day

  1. Wow you do a lot of shoting :up:Nice to follow you a day ๐Ÿ™‚ Would be nice with higher resolution!

  2. Thanks guys for commenting :)Originally posted by samoht1:

    Would be nice with higher resolution!

    I try to rearrange that if I find another software to do that. I just don't want to upload all that rubbish to servers :DEDIT: I noticed this bad quality and image downsized to much smaller is caused by MyOpera server, when add picture to article feature has been used. So, to get the picture available in larger size, I have to upload it separately.Originally posted by claudeb:

    Perhaps being able to practice more, on the cheap, has made you better.

    No idea about the quality in general, but that is what it takes to get the daily shot taken, plus one or two extra. I have started to do like Tim and Merle, and stopped counting up to 365. Instead I keep on going every day and open a new album every year :lol:Originally posted by zdenotim:

    i do maybe 10 in week in these days

    Well, I don't know how I find time to shoot all those pictures. Maybe there could be better ways to use that time :left:

  3. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    "cool shot"

    That is the best way :up: Sometimes I wonder how similar photography can be with something like fishing or archery. Blogs and albums just makes it social :up:Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    I just enjoy the sound & vibration of shutter mechanism. A moderate case of shutter addiction, perhaps.

    I definitely know the feeling. I should use Olympus E-450 more often just because of that ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. For me taking photographs occurs in three phases. First I "see" a picture of a scene or object in my mental frame. Then I get the camera out and take a shot. The third phase is taking more shots. In the third phase sometime I just forget how many shots I've taken and just keep on doing it, maybe because the object is interesting, but often because I just enjoy the sound & vibration of shutter mechanism. A moderate case of shutter addiction, perhaps. :DIn my case my photography was purely for recording purpose during the film camera era and the first few years of using digital cameras. Only very recently, after started blogging and meeting my good friend darkesthour & Sami here, I started taking photos for a "cool shot". ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  5. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    Shocking, isn't it?

    Even that can be too much for freedom lovers like Michal, I think. Besides, based on our discussion I know Michal hates explaining his photographs by telling stories ๐Ÿ˜€ But we will see what Michal himself has to say on this :up:

  6. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    Any thought of starting a new album at S&T, Michal, now the editing restrictions are lifted?

    Warning: There are still restrictions, like pictures has to be recently taken and 4 to 40 pictures per month :left:

  7. Wow I like that a lot :hat: :sing: Thanks Sami :up:Ohh and I take 3-4 shots a day. I am taking less shots with the E-M5 as it is easier to get the right settings and the sensor cell offer more flexibility than my other slr's ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Originally posted by samoht1:

    Ohh and I take 3-4 shots a day. I am taking less shots with the E-M5 as it is easier to get the right settings and the sensor cell offer more flexibility than my other slr's

    So, it is a camera the makes the picture :jester: But seriously speaking, better the camera less need to shoot retakes. On display that rotates and is large enough, it is easier to compose and see when focusing is correct. Also stabilizer and sensor good enough really makes it a lot easier to get pictures even in low light.

  9. Originally posted by serola:

    But seriously speaking, better the camera less need to shoot retakes.

    :yes:Further of my favorite extra in E-M5:- When adjusting ISO the picture shows immediately the consequence of the change and A/S/+- shows also – Electronic View Finder that shows what you get- Oneclick to see preview with chosen aperture:happy:

  10. ๐Ÿ˜† interesting discussion here it is … :coffee: or :cheers:Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    So those were the mischief you were up to before I joined S&T, eh? Any thought of starting a new album at S&T, Michal, now the editing restrictions are lifted?

    ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ’ก I have some ideas that I will start to show from 12-12-12 http://my.opera.com/brunozbruna/blog/2012/10/16/12-12-12 anyway it is possible to be back on the S&T, but the last days I'm very busy for taking the photo. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I want to always come up with something new, my first 365 years was "learning", the second 365 years was "editing" and my new project will be a return to the classic … :whistle: :sing: :coffee:

  11. Michal you are more than welcome to come back to S&T :DNow-a-days we only requere minimum 4 shots per month ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    it is possible to be back on the S&T

    :yes: :hat: :wait:

  13. The problem for an amateur like me is about the angle and light effects. And also how to make the photos 'can talking' to the people who see it?

  14. Originally posted by i-bar:

    angle and light effects

    Can you give an example to examine and give suggestions :sherlock:Originally posted by i-bar:

    how to make the photos 'can talking' to the people who see it?

    Basic tricks:- Go closer to the subject- Don't forget the background! If there are too may disturbing elements on background then try to kneel down to use sky as background, or if possible shoot from up to down.- Most of the cameras should have "half press" optin to lock the distance and exposure. Use that to get it right before you compose.- If possible to adjust picture afterwards, then at least try to increase contrast a little. That usually improves pictures a lot.

  15. Well, thank you for the sugestion. I will remember this and do it in my next shoot!:up:

  16. I must learn some discipline, but wildlife has its own challenges. I can take a single burst of 10-20 shots without really thinking. Another way of looking at it is that I take maybe five or six shots a day, but about 30 frames each shot ๐Ÿ˜‰ The real killer is finding time to sort them out.

  17. Originally posted by Words:

    I can take a single burst of 10-20 shots without really thinking.

    I can truly appreciate that ๐Ÿ˜‰Link leads to a large image (900+KB)Originally posted by serola:

    better the camera less need to shoot retakes.

    I'm not sure I'd agree with you. That may be true when you're shooting a still object under controlled conditions, ie no light fluctuation, wind or a cat to mess with the object. But I would still take at least as many shots as I do now if I had a newer model camera with more functions, or even more as such a camera would provide faster continuous shooting and wider bracketing options. You never know. The shot you did not take because you thought you'd done enough could become your best shot ever! ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. My Scottish Lassie laughs at me when I tell her I made 30 to 50 exposures in one day … even if I shoot over 200 (I only did that once)! But she's an ex-photojournalist / war correspondent for The Times of London, and she averaged over 2000 pics/day, even when she was using film. I had to consider each shot in terms of money, and I still do, though it's just a habit. I tell her that if they made 8" ร— 10" digital backs for view cameras, I'd be the guy with my head stuck under the black cloth.

  19. Yep, I agree with you Words, MM and dW on fact that shooting living, moving subjects is very different business, and requires much more frames taken per one good image.But in my style of shooting I have had to admit the camera do matter. Thanks to turning display it is easier to compose, aka no need to take so many retakes. Thanks to good stabilizer, good quality even on high ISO values and large aperture, the same thing: less need for retakes. And thanks to large and good display it easier to become assured if shot is good or not.Earlier I have had to even abandon some subjects just because after trial and error the results have turned out not good enough. Then I have had to shoot something else, less interesting. So, thanks to good camera I can be more picky and spend less time on puzzling whether the results are good or not.

Reply

