Head in the clouds


I gave my little finger to devil. Peeps warned me not to. And yet I did…

First it was just an email service, then calendar, then online text editor, and finally a social media service… You may already know what I'm talking about. I mean Google this and Google that. I have it on my computers and I have it on my phone. And I no longer can't manage without it.

And what I get in return? Okay, they work alright, on anything Google related. But I start to become convinced there is a great conspiracy against anything Opera related. At least Opera Mini still works fine on my Android phone. But many Google services have become more and more unstable and unusable on any Opera browser.

Now I have already gave up on my Lubuntu netbook and started to use Chromium. Next on line is Opera on my Windows XP PC. Last week it became just impossible to use Google+ via Opera. On Firefox for Win XP it still works. I still need to test if this works also for Google+. Hopefully it does.

I wish I had not given my little finger to devil…

31 thoughts on “Head in the clouds

  1. It took a bit of work, but I canceled my Google account earlier this year. The only service I was really using anymore was PicasaWeb, and though it did have advantages over My Opera (nice picture layout, CC licensing), it wasn't worth the trouble in the end.Dunno what I'd do in your place, though… Sounds like you're stuck.

  2. If I used G+, I would use a chromium browser (SRWare Iron is my choice) for G+ and Opera for everything else. If then I started using Irom more & Opera less, that'd be fine. No big deal, really, just a browser. What I've most issue with is the search function. Depending on the nature of document I translate for any given order, I have to search in totally different fields, sometimes narrow & deep, other times as wide as possible. The last thing I need is Google "optimising" search results for "my needs" based on the searches I performed a month before, which actually confounds the results.

  3. Ah, Google's "personalized" search is another (ugly) story. I've been using DuckDuckGo for a while now, it works much better.

  4. Originally posted by claudeb:

    Dunno what I'd do in your place, though… Sounds like you're stuck.

    There MM's solution helps partially:Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    If I used G+, I would use a chromium browser (SRWare Iron is my choice) for G+ and Opera for everything else. If then I started using Irom more & Opera less, that'd be fine. No big deal, really, just a browser.

    Been there, tried that ๐Ÿ™‚ However, on my tiny netbook I have too little drive space to run many browsers. Well, I know Opera would not take much space but I recently had to install everything again (including OS), and I have been just too lazy to install also Opera :oOn desktop PC I already use tree browsers: IE, Firefox and Opera. Just because some of services only works best (or work at all) on one of them. Now it feels ridiculous to get yet another browser just because of Google, but I guess MM is right, I just have to :cry:Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    The last thing I need is Google "optimising" search results for "my needs" based on the searches I performed a month before, which actually confounds the results.

    Sometimes it is good :up: An easy way to find things already found earlier ๐Ÿ˜€ For lazy people who do not have energy to organize everything into bookmarks :lol:Originally posted by claudeb:

    I've been using DuckDuckGo for a while now, it works much better.

    There I have not been lazy :up: I have given a very long trial run for DuckDuckGo, and I agree, it is good. But also many times I have had to acknowledge Google is better on finding results if spelling errors done or on something less common.

  5. Originally posted by claudeb:

    Google's "personalized" search is another (ugly) story.

    I don't use personalised search at all. Accepting cookies only from the site visiting & all cleared at exit. Main tracking scripts blocked using Fanboy's blocklist. But I have a static IP. So it's impossible to block all tracking completely. :(I use Startpage for my default search. But there are times Startpage is unable to return any result & I have to use Google search. Startpage used to have "World traveller" option, very useful for searching widely on a global topic. Now they removed that option, which limits my scope of search. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Originally posted by serola:

    On desktop PC I already use tree browsers: IE, Firefox and Opera. Just because some of services only works best (or work at all) on one of them. Now it feels ridiculous to get yet another browser just because of Google

    My laptops have never had Firefox. So you'd be able to guess what I'd say about your situation. :devil:BTW the search "optimisation" I've been on about is rather inconspicuous but insidious. I doubt if you ever notice it at all. But when I search for "hypertension" + "contraindication" while researching for translation of a hospital procedure manual and have "V**gra" related pages near top of the search returns, then remember I did another order on health education & sexual health a couple of weeks ago, I know G* is watching me! :no: (Disclaimer: the aforementioned anecdote was not a real situation. But I did experience a similar)

  7. Originally posted by serola:

    Last week it became just impossible to use Google+ via Opera.

    I tried to go to my Google plus page the other day and my Internet connection locked up. That page triggered an unknown download that just sucked the full bandwidth away from anything else! :insane:I closed the page and still do not know what they were trying to load into my computer! :awww::sst: This is on Crunchbang Debian. I could see via Conky that there was a heavy download that began everytime I tried opening a tab to the Google+ page! :irked:

  8. Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    My laptops have never had Firefox. So you'd be able to guess what I'd say about your situation.

    I'm screwed! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ Goodbye dream of being able to use just only one browser :awww:Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    But when I search for "hypertension" + "contraindication" while researching for translation of a hospital procedure manual and have "V**gra" related pages near top of the search returns, then remember I did another order on health education & sexual health a couple of weeks ago, I know G* is watching me!

    Oh yes, I keep on getting Canon G12 related advertisements even after buying one ๐Ÿ˜† Maybe Google should have a feature where user can tell what s/he already has ๐Ÿ˜€ What comes to search engines in general, I love the way one can easily create custom searches on Opera. So, I don't use just one search engine but many. I have there TheFreeDictionary, Wikipedia, Wikia, DuckDuckGo, Google, GoogleScholar, Delicious, Urban Dictionary etc. And the best thing is that I can synchronize all of them between computers and phone (Opera Mini and Mobile). Therefore I'm also hooked to Opera browsers.Another thing I once again run into, is those private tabs on Opera. MM knows that I have been a moderator at MyOpera's Shoot & Tell group. For awhile I wasn't, and I managed to get along with just Chromium on my netbook. But now I'm a moderator again, and I probably just have to install Opera.These private tabs are must have when one has to use different accounts on same service. At Shoot & Tell we moderators have one shared account which we use for publishing blog articles and for correspondence between moderators and members. It is so nice and easy to have two accounts open on a same browser and just switch between tabs to use them.But there are also many other small reasons… For example on Opera I can get customized toolbars for editors at MyOpera. On other browsers I can't.So, I will now give up and install Opera on my netbook and Chrome to my desktop ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Originally posted by qlue:

    I could see via Conky that there was a heavy download that began everytime I tried opening a tab to the Google+ page!

    :eyes: I wonder what that could be. And have I got something harmful, useless and/or spacious into my computers :insane:

  10. I used to have six browsers in my old 512MB RAM 40GB desktop ๐Ÿ˜€ They were IE, Opera, Seamonkey, K-Meleon, Flock (Gecko powered) & Avant. I was a browser flirt those days. :lol:Originally posted by qlue:

    there was a heavy download that began everytime I tried opening a tab to the Google+ page!

    :insane: I think I'll stick with MyOpera for now.

  11. Originally posted by serola:

    I wonder what that could be. And have I got something harmful, useless and/or spacious into my computers

    It's really strange since it would be virtually impossible to install any app without root privileges. :sherlock:But I suspect that it's related to my recently removing Chromium Browser! :left: ( :sst: I never use it anyway so why keep it around? )

  12. Originally posted by serola:

    Well, at lest any browser starts heavily download all the feeds and comments one follows at Google+. More you follow, more you get. I suppose Google+ even push contents that one does not need, just in case, so it will be accessed "quickly" if needed Just like suggested search words on Google search.

    Although this is this first time it's ever tried to download like this for me! :left:We're talking HD streaming levels here, not a few KiB of text! :insane:

  13. Well, at lest any browser starts heavily download all the feeds and comments one follows at Google+. More you follow, more you get. I suppose Google+ even push contents that one does not need, just in case, so it will be accessed "quickly" if needed ๐Ÿ˜€ Just like suggested search words on Google search.

  14. :yes: Head in the clouds? :confused: ๐Ÿ˜† or heaven and earth!:up: :doh: :cheers:

  15. Yes, the blog title was a kind of intertextual reference necessitate some previous knowledge on the idea of cloud computing. The point is that services like Google takes our privacy and freedom. Soon we find out we can not live without those services, and then we are forced to use all that those services offer, and we lose freedom of choice.But what comes to poverty… That is a whole different topic :awww: Freedom of choice and open source could be ways to easy some of that poverty.

  16. Interesting…:yes: you know there's so much to learn about nature, how can provides us almost everything, not all this political business, the whole world is up side down now, poverty is all over the world and get worse, so i think knowing all this knowledge about computer network or " head in the clouds " not only connected us all over the world but also giving us knowledge how to change the whole world in the future…:yes: :doh: :cheers:

  17. Originally posted by serola:

    Soon we find out we can not live without those services, and then we are forced to use all that those services offer, and we lose freedom of choice.

    :awww: that's not good…i think! aniway thank's for having interesting conversation…now & then! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Am sad to say I haven't used Opera for over a year now. It has been crashing and freezing on my Mac. Since then I use Chrome, which led me to use more google servic444444111. (My cat just jumped on the keyboard ๐Ÿ™‚ ) services.I don't mind the privacy issues, what I do mind is every service being connected to the other.And not being able to seperate them yourself. Google doesn't give the user much control. ๐Ÿ˜ก

  19. Originally posted by deSales:

    My cat just jumped on the keyboard

    :cat: :left: ๐Ÿ˜† Originally posted by deSales:

    I don't mind the privacy issues, what I do mind is every service being connected to the other.And not being able to seperate them yourself. Google doesn't give the user much control.

    Or the controls are difficult to control. I talked about these "semantic web" issues with my colleague and the problem seems to be that traditional databases just are not flexible enough. I on't no damn thing about them but once had a chance to follow how database is constructed. There are just numerous access right issues to solve. Every damn feature has to be thought trough in case something has to be changed afterwards.What confuses me on Google services at the moment is instant messaging (Google chat). There are many software to access chat and sometimes system just fails to keep me noticed if someone tries to contact me or system fails to keep my status updated.

  20. Chrome has two major flaws:1. it is designed for multi-core devices and it performs worse than others on single core machines.2. it is filled with features for tracking the user.3. on Linux it often comes in the form of Chromium. It is not the same, because no binary of Chromium is "officially" released. Chromium is just compiled from a snaptshot of the unstable sources.Personally I find the best multi-platform browser, pros and cons considered, being Firefox. On Linux distros I usually have the default browser that comes with the DE (es. Midori for GTK) as backup and Firefox.

  21. I use Chromium on my laptop just because it came with Lubuntu distro. I don't know why the developers of Lubuntu have come with Chromium instead of Firefox. Maybe it takes less drive space.

  22. Nope. It is just based on their personal taste. It is a sort of contradiction since Lubuntu should be targeted to low end machines and Chromium works well with multi core CPUs and at least 1Giga of RAM (due to its multi-process architecture).On my very old PC and Lubuntu I get "too low memory" errors from Chromium, while Firefox still works.As additional draw back, like I said, Chromium does not have a "stable" code base.So in short, if you are running Lubuntu on low end hardware I would suggest to install Firefox and use it instead of Chromium.Speaking of Opera on Linux, is it GTK or KDE?

  23. Originally posted by deSales:

    I don't mind the privacy issues, what I do mind is every service being connected to the other.And not being able to seperate them yourself. Google doesn't give the user much control.

    ๐Ÿ˜† Are you sure? am i being fooled again Sami? I'm just curious! ๐Ÿ’ก :confused: :insane: :cat:

  24. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    So in short, if you are running Lubuntu on low end hardware I would suggest to install Firefox and use it instead of Chromium.

    OK, thanks for recommendation.Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    Speaking of Opera on Linux, is it GTK or KDE?

    I don't know.

  25. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    Originally posted by deSales:

    I don't mind the privacy issues, what I do mind is every service being connected to the other.And not being able to seperate them yourself. Google doesn't give the user much control.

    ๐Ÿ˜† Are you sure? am i being fooled again Sami? I'm just curious! ๐Ÿ’ก :confused: :insane: :cat:

    Is that question directed to me or deSales?

  26. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    Speaking of Opera on Linux, is it GTK or KDE?

    I think it's QT-based, but I could be wrong.

Reply

