Mission almost impossible

I found it extremely difficult to get pictures uploaded from Android phone to internet for inline linked images. What I tried to achieve is this:

  1. Export directly from Android software to some social media picture service.
  2. Go to that social media picture service and copy the direct url for the image.
  3. Paste that url on blog, forum or comment message to get inline linked image.

I first tried DropBox because that is what I already use. On PicSay for android I can directly export the images to my DropBox 'public' album. Then at DropBox I should be able to copy the public link for image. But instead on Opera Mini browser I get only link for DropBox page where the image is shown to public, not the direct url for .jpg image.

Next I tried to use picasaweb.google.com, which I also have and is accessible from Android exports. It worked and I was finally able to get thee image url displayed and copied. But it took six steps to get it done:

  1. Go to picasaweb.google.com
  2. Open album
  3. Open picture
  4. Open 'link to this picture' feature
  5. Change the link for full image size (or any other size more suitable than the default tiny one)
  6. Check box to show just the url for the image and not the HTML code for Web pages (becaue one can not use that on bbcode forums)

And there are no page zooming and steps for adding the url listed. Rather cumbersome I say. Any suggestions how to make this easier on Android phone and when using Opera Mini browser?

25 thoughts on “Mission almost impossible

  1. Do you have an Ubuntu One account? I just installed the corresponding Android app yesterday, and in Settings you can set the app to automatically upload your phone's photos to the cloud. I haven't tried publishing a photo from my phone so it can be embedded elsewhere, but I have done so using the desktop browser interface. I will have to try getting a public URL via the phone and get back with you.

  2. Okay, I'm back. I have some smilies uploaded to Ubuntu One, and I'm going to try to embed one here. . It seemed to work, but I'll know for sure when I publish this comment. What I did was go to my Android Ubuntu One app and long press on the file name. Then I had the option of sharing the link to the usual places (twitter, etc) or I could just save the URL to the clipboard. I went with the clipboard option. Then I pasted the URL here, surrounded by the usual BBcode. Let's see if it worked.

  3. Originally posted by debplatt:

    Do you have an Ubuntu One account?

    Great ๐Ÿ’ก Actually I do have, I think :sherlock: Just haven't used it ever. I'll find out if I can activate it. Thank you very much Deb ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you for the link! Oddly enough I had Ubuntu One installed on previous versions of Ubuntu. Then I accepted my husband's offer to take his old laptop (running Windows 7). I was able to easily install Ubuntu One on that. And like you, I just got the Android App (pretty happy with it so far ๐Ÿ™‚ ). But I'm still using my Lubuntu-based laptop for running apache, mysql, etc., but I never got around to trying to install Ubuntu One on it. Now I'll give that a try. :up:

  5. I went to Ubuntu Forums and discovered that the catch in installing Ubuntu One is the lack of Nautilus… except I had already installed Nautilus to make Dropbox sync work. So all I had to do was go to the Ubuntu Software Center and get the Ubuntu One installer. :doh:At this point I have a somewhat ridiculous number of cloud accounts (Ubuntu One, Dropbox, Box, Skydrive, Amazon). Am I making particularly good use of them? I don't really think so. It would make sense to partition up my file system and send different classes of files to different cloud services. I was trying to do something like that by using Amazon exclusively for uploaded music which I could then stream on an Android device via an Amazon app. But Amazon changed their terms of service this past August to prevent people from doing just this.One of the things I have really liked about Dropbox is that their open API has encouraged a lot of people to make apps for it. On Android, I'm using a note taking app, Epistle, because it lets me write notes using Markdown and then they're automatically synced via Dropbox. I am also playing with an Android App called, "Ema's Personal Wiki" that allows me to create a wiki on my Android Device which is then synced via Dropbox. I use if for more inter-related notes (a bit like I used to use Tomboy). But Dropbox doesn't have such a good reputation for security, so I don't think I'd put anything too personal in my Dropbox account unless the information was already encrypted.

  6. Originally posted by debplatt:

    One of the things I have really liked about Dropbox is that their open API has encouraged a lot of people to make apps for it. On Android, I'm using a note taking app, Epistle, because it lets me write notes using Markdown and then they're automatically synced via Dropbox. I am also playing with an Android App called, "Ema's Personal Wiki" that allows me to create a wiki on my Android Device which is then synced via Dropbox. I use if for more inter-related notes (a bit like I used to use Tomboy).

    Sounds useful ๐Ÿ™‚ Previously I used Opera and Opera Mini notes, but found it somewhat unreliable.

  7. I just discovered that Dropbox is offering users up to 3GB of additional space for enabling their "Camera upload" feature, either on their Windows machine or on their android phone. The first photo you upload gets you 500MB of additional storage space. After your first photo if you upload an additional 2.5GB of photos, you'll max out on this free storage promotion. The free, increased storage is a permanent upgrade to your account.If you are interested, there's more information at Dropbox: How do I get free space for using Camera Upload?.

  8. Originally posted by debplatt:

    The first photo you upload gets you 500MB of additional storage space.

    Thanks Deb ๐Ÿ™‚ I gladly took that 500MB. Now I have 4.25 GB in total :hat:

  9. I just got a new Android phone as I renewed my contract with my cellphone providers. I installed the dropbox app, linked it to my account, and set it to auto-upload photos. As soon as I did, I got an email from dropbox saying that I was now a "Dropbox Guru," and for the next 24 months my account was being upgraded by an extra 48GB. :eyes: True it is temporary, but two years is a pretty long time.I had never heard of a "Dropbox Guru" before. After googling it, I think there is some possibility that you, too, could become a Dropbox Guru. Some people said they were able to trigger the "award" by uninstalling the dropbox android app, then re-installing it. It sounds like you must complete all the tasks listed at https://www.dropbox.com/gs as well, but I could have sworn that I had accomplished them all earlier. It wasn't until I installed the app on a new device that the award was triggered.

  10. Thanks again Deb for the tip ๐Ÿ™‚ But I have plenty of Dropbox space already for everything I need. Although, I'm also planning to buy a new Android phone soon. So, I probably end up to get that "Dropbox Guru" status as well ๐Ÿ˜†

  11. Now I am wondering if my gift of a temporary 48GB is preventing me from expanding my permanent storage via the Camera Upload promotion. :left: I just imported and uploaded photos from my camera via my computer's dropbox sync, and it doesn't look like this expanded my storage at all. Honestly I'd rather have the smaller, permanent expansion of storage space.

  12. Originally posted by debplatt:

    I'd rather have the smaller, permanent expansion of storage space.

    Me too :worried:

  13. It turns out that using Camera Upload did increase my permanent storage. However I was only notified at half-gig intervals, so at first I didn't think my uploads were having any effect.

  14. Originally posted by debplatt:

    It turns out that using Camera Upload did increase my permanent storage.

    I suppose that is a good thing then :)I have kind of stuck with DropBox because for me it is most convenient (easy to use) at the moment. I have almost completely stopped uploading any pictures from my Android phone after buying a new pocket camera.

  15. You guys been tryin' to go down them stairs, ain'tcha? Thass why you're talkin all funny.

  16. Originally posted by derWandersmann:

    hass why you're talkin all funny.

    How's this for talkin funny… Happy New Years, Charles and Sami. :hat: :cheers:

Reply

