Summer has arrived

Summer has finally arrived, and my summer vacation started. Today temperature climbed even up to +24 Celsius, which is just enough for me. These shots I took last Monday, when me and my wife went bicycling to Pyynikki view tower and back.

One of the things I've done during my first days of holiday has been reading of some interesting writings on photography. They have made me think such things as: "What is my photographic process?" and "What makes a dull picture look good?" Answer to the first question is very complex, but in short I have discovered it is all about having fun. Camera is my toy, and photography is my playground. My best moments are when I discover some new game like way to edit or cool thing to shoot.

But photography also seem to be a question of lucky coincidences for me. Someone at Google+ objected this, saying it is almost sad if peeps think there is luck involved. But for me luck is positive and welcome factor. I trust on coincidences that bring subjects for me to photograph. It does not have to be anything extraordinary. It is enough to spot something like a person running in the right direction in the right moment. Or a sun shining just from the right direction. Of course one can minimize the affect of coincidences with the quantity, aka stand long enough on the same spot to get enough interesting things happen around and on right moment. Or travel to some extraordinary and exotic place to get astonishing pictures. But for someone lazy like me, it is not a very tempting option to see all the trouble to wait and get prepared for the right moment. I rather just keep camera ready and shoot whatever life brings on my way.

Then what comes to the second question, I have found it somewhat funny how peeps seem to like edited pictures more than unedited ones. Including myself. Even a tiny trick can make a dull picture look much better. I remember being against any cheap circus tricks, and swearing in the name of authenticity and documentary. But after all, if photography really want to compete with other arts, then some creativity is necessary. Then of course comes the question: "What visual art is?" On one comment I said art is a rubber duck. And I really think so, and meant visual art. It is a question of making something tempting and interesting. The most important thing is to capture the attention. Anything that manage to do so is visual art in my opinion. Although, some things simple just are more aesthetic than others. Then according to my own taste, I think a good editing is invisible. In other words, if you don't even notice picture has been edited, and it looks good, then editing has been succeeded. I do not claim that some "over edited" pictures are then bad. They are just different. But then the editing steps into main role in the picture and that is a very different topic.

27 thoughts on “Summer has arrived

  1. I agree that it's a fine art to edit a photo 'just enough' to bring out the diamond! :yes: .

  2. Today temperature climbed even up to +24 Celsius, which is just enough for me.

    :yikes: We didn't get over 23ยฐC last summer! My city is colder than Finland ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    "What art is"

    Art to me is something done by a human very skillfully. When art is done well, those that see and/or receive it are affected (impressed, moved, whatever) and/or helped. Some people have natural gift in certain art. But most of us have to practise to perform something skilful enough to call it art.Art of communication helps people understand each other, which usually leads to a better outcome between them. Art of care has helped those sick, injured and dying for centuries through hands of carers, nurses and physicians. Arts of unarmed fighting, or martial arts, are impressive to look at when performed by experts, but also help police perform their duties of keeping the public stay safe. Art of acting moves audience and even reduced them to tears. Art of story telling has impressed, moved and inspired generations of peoples young and old. Arts of making have defined civilisations and cultures through distinct style of building, craft and cuisine.Creative arts are a significant part but not all of human arts.

  3. Yes, all that is art as well ๐Ÿ™‚ I meant 'visual art' is a rubber duck for me. I correct my writing as well :up:

  4. A lot nicer image of rubber duckling than the Urban Dictionary version, eh? ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Thanks for visit Abhinav :)Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    have you heard about the rubber duck toys that got spilled from a cargo ship in middle of ocean and went around the world?

    I didn't know it is a true story :yikes: That idea was once used on one Finnish TV series ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  6. Well, visual art may be a rubber duck to you, but there is certainly art among ducks! ๐Ÿ˜†

  7. ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† I think I'll have a nightmare about it :p

  8. Hello,my name is Selena, i am a nice looking girl, It's my pleasure to contact you here, I want to know more about you and have good relationship with you and i want to be your girlfriend.I am not always here on the site due to my limited time, please contact me direct into my private email address.(selenaob@yahoo.com)i have a very important thing to tell you and i will also send you my photos and tell you more things about me.Thanks.(selenaob@yahoo.com)

  9. Originally posted by serola:

    That definitely is art, dW

    Pablo would be so proud! ๐Ÿ˜†

  10. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    what was that you holding on your lift eye?

    Android camera phone

  11. :yes: it's all having fun, in what you do… all nice photos'..:up: ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. :yes: :coffee: ๐Ÿ˜† is that really you? you look very seriously…and what was that you holding on your lift eye? am just curious…:)

Reply

