Gradients, what they are good for?


My friend Deb Platt mentioned one could do "split-toning" to enhance the pictures or to give them some cool vintage look. Original idea is to use one color to tone highlights and another color for shadows. After searching I discovered one can use gradients for that. On the picture you see how to do this, but here are the stages explained:

  1. Duplicate layer and keep it selected.
  2. Change the mode of that layer for 'Soft light' and change opacity for 50%.
  3. Open the gradients dialog under layers.
  4. Choose gradient you like to try.
  5. Then from menu select 'Colors > Map > Gradient map'.

If you are not satisfied, then undo and select another gradient. Or make a gradient of your own. On some pictures gradient like 'Blinds' help to make picture more graphical. Or try something like 'Franch flag smooth' to give a vintage tone.

References:

23 thoughts on “Gradients, what they are good for?

  1. Hi Sami 1st thing I need to mention is can You re-add me as a Friend as I can't comment on certain Blog Posts like this Beautiful Camera Bag: http://my.opera.com/serola/blog/2010/11/12/camera-bagExcellent Totorial on Gimp Gradient Tools & Filters & Thanks to Deb Platt 4 Split Toning Tips.I also have used the Gradient Tool with Gimp Editing but not in this context above enjoy the rest of Your weekend Sami.

  2. @Kelisha – Sorry, but I have made up my mind on this matter. Besides, I thought you were going to have a break from MyOpera :confused: Anyway, thanks for commenting once again :cheers:@Qlue – Thank you very much for the tip :hat: Although, maybe I could do the opposite and have break for that single day ๐Ÿ˜†

  3. ๐Ÿ˜† .That could be another way to go about it! :yes: .I submitted photos for the "A Day In The Life Of South Africa." project back in the eighties. None of mine made it into the book back then, so maybe this is my turn. :yes: .

  4. Originally posted by serola:

    @Kelisha – Sorry, but I have made up my mind on this matter.

    Maybe you'll Chance it 1 Day & at Least were still Friends.:D :cheers: Originally posted by serola:

    Besides, I thought you were going to have a break from MyOpera

    It will Only be a very short Break Sami Wwwwwwwwwy :heart: it if I did??. & I need You to Send Me those Photos to My Email Adress You know the 1 as i've sent You a Few Emails Asking 4 them Please Sami.:zip:

  5. Originally posted by Kelisha:

    I need You to Send Me those Photos to My Email Adress You know the 1 as i've sent You a Few Emails Asking 4 them

    Could you please explain here what photos you are talking about. I'm also filtering my email.

  6. Originally posted by Kelisha:

    My Shoot & Tell Photos

    Do you mean you want to access the pictures in your closed Shoot & Tell album? I can pass your wish to S&T moderators team. Maybe your album can be reopened for awhile for you to download the pictures. How long time you think you would need to download over 150 pictures?

  7. Originally posted by serola:

    Could you please explain here what photos you are talking about.

    My Shoot & Tell Photos & the Email that I want You 2 Send them 2 is the Google 1 on (My About Page on My Opera account as I'm not going to Post it up here as it's Private My Email & for friends Eyes Only) + I'm on Opera as much in the Next Month & this is My main E-mail Adress that I use for all My Accounts Except Opera of Coarse.:p ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€ Originally posted by serola:

    I'm also filtering my email.

    I Never new this Until Tonight.

  8. Originally posted by serola:

    Do you mean you want to access the pictures in your closed Shoot & Tell album?

    :yes:Originally posted by serola:

    I can pass your wish to S&T moderators team.

    That would be G8 Thanks Sami.:D;) Originally posted by serola:

    Maybe your album can be reopened for awhile for you to download the pictures.

    I Appreciate the Help so much Sami.;) ๐Ÿ˜ฎ :whistle: Originally posted by serola:

    How long time you think you would need to Download over 150 pictures?

    I don't know Maybe about 6 hrs probably give or take a bit Due to Distractions & what not, I'd say 12 Hrs just to cover My Butt & Thanks again Sami :flirt: We can Do this Tomorrow 15/05 if you don't Want to do this 2Nite as You've Finished Your Work & want 2 Relax with Your Loved 1's.

  9. OK Kelisha, I suppose we can give you even couple of days :up: I let you know once I have heard what others think.

  10. Originally posted by serola:

    OK Kelisha, I suppose we can give you even couple of days

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Awesome that Would Be just Great Sami & Thanks so Very Very Much & I can't thank You Enough My Friend.Originally posted by serola:

    I let you know once I have heard what others think.

    Thanks & That would be Good to Know & I don't see any reason 4 them to Disagree…Enjoy the Rest of your Evening Sami. :dragonfly:

  11. Originally posted by serola:

    @Kelisha – You should receive email from shoottell.

    I just did about 15 Mins ago Thanks so Very much Your a real Sweety Sami(thats not meant in a Flirting way but as a Friend):flirt:Originally posted by serola:

    You get three days to download the pictures.

    Thats Plenty of Time Thanks. http://my.opera.com/shootell/albums/show.dml?id=5979062Thanks For the link above also Sami & Enjoy Your Evening. :wizard:

  12. I've Downloaded all of them Sami.:hat:How do I keep the Photos with the Text attached like Great Photo Stories or a Couple that have My Poetry connected??;) :whistle:

  13. Originally posted by serola:

    Unfortunately only way is to copy all those stories. One at the time.

    Oh What a Headache Copy & Pasting Every 1 that I want saved :eyes: Can't I just Bookmark the Page will that Work & Save the text on Link after My Photo Album is deleted or No Longer up There Sami???

  14. Originally posted by serola:

    Just do it in the way that is easiest and most convenient for yourself.

    Thanks for the Advice Sami i'll save them to "Copy to Note" on the Copy Window.

  15. Bookmarking pages does not work. Pages will be closed/deleted as well. I recommend you open a album on PC for the pages where you save them locally. That is the fastest and easiest way to do it.

  16. Originally posted by serola:

    I recommend you open a album

    do You mean a Photo Album??:confused:Originally posted by serola:

    on PC for the pages where you save them locally.

    Okay I Guess I'll have to.:(

  17. Look can I just Copy Everyhing to "Copy to Note" Sami?? as this is the quickest & easiest was rather than save them locally.

Reply

