White balance


When exploring scripts for GIMP, I found a very useful one for correcting the white balance on pictures. Many pocket cameras does not have option for WB preset. And when shooting under artificial light none of the camera's white balance settings may not work perfect. The room can be lit with numerous light bulbs that all have a little different color temperature and quite often they do not match with any of the WB settings on camera.

Now this WB script: "converts the colors of an image, so that the foreground color (chosen, e.g., with the color picker tool) is either transformed to gray, or to the background color." In other words, you just use color picker, choose a spot which should be white, and run the script. That spot don't have to be pure white on the picture. It is enough the spot is on object that is in shadows, but it still is normally a white object like a white paper, white table top or white wall.

On example picture you see the original WB on bottom, then this script used on middle, and GIMP's "auto white balance" on top. The auto white balance clearly exaggerates and ruins the picture. But the script does pretty good job.

13 thoughts on “White balance

  1. Thanks, Sami. I have some pre-installed scripts from a Fedora repository, but your link should help me gain confidence in installing scripts on my own.

  2. I'll have to try this. I've been splitting the photos into colour channels and adjusting the contrast and brightness of individual channels to correct white balance. :up:

  3. Well, I always feel like I'm just discovering how to do photo editing that everyone else already knows how to do, but I just learned how to use Gimp to make pseudo-vintage photos. I have a small pseudo-vintage album here if you are interested. I used the process described in this YouTube tutorial. There's probably a scrip to automate the process. Like right now, I'm looking for a srip to merge auto-bracketed images. How do you go about discovering new scrips?

  4. That pseudo-vintage look is very cool Deb :up: It is actually quite complicated to me ๐Ÿ˜† I often go with much lesser stages.How to build up a script is not easy, I think. I have not yet even considered trying it. Or maybe it is just very easy ๐Ÿ˜† But when you open any of those scripts on text editor, you will see there is some "programming" required.Originally posted by debplatt:

    How do you go about discovering new scrips?

    First scripts I found at DevianART. Then one day I just googled 'GIMP scripts' and found registry.gimp.org. To seek scripts is best to start from this blog post http://registry.gimp.org/node/18

  5. Thanks for the additional information about GIMP scripts and where to go find new ones. I use only the smallest fraction of GIMP's functionality, so I'm defnitely on the steep ascent of the learning curve. I just learned recently that so many of the photos that I've admired of Michal's have been achieved through "tone splitting", and that is one of the zillion effects that I can achieve with GIMP. I'm looking forward to giving it a try.

  6. This script works well and saves a lot of time and faffing around! :yes: .I must examine that script so that I can see how to write my own! :hat: .

  7. Originally posted by qlue:

    This script works well and saves a lot of time and faffing around!

    I totally agree :up: There are some noise left after correcting white balance with this script, but result is still better than any other measures I have tried so far.

Reply

