Featured photos and popular photographers

Today I read an interesting article called My most viewed photos at Shoot and Tell by Deb Platt. It made me remember the study made at MIT labs to find out what makes an image memorable:

In general, images with people in them are the most memorable, followed by images of human-scale space โ€” such as the produce aisle of a grocery store โ€” and close-ups of objects.

Although, being memorable does not necessarily mean something is popular. But being memorable surely must make a picture more interesting.

But popularity is a strange thing, and obviously our behavior can be affected with something like news and advertisements. What has very long interested me is how some pictures here around MyOpera just becomes more popular and viewed than others. And what really do make a change is to become featured on MyOpera photos and viewed on MyOpera news and margin of that same page.

For example this Orlando's featured picture I would not call as memorable, based on MIT lab study, and yet it has received incredible over 10,000 views in rather short period of time. Although, there is a human figure in the picture ๐Ÿ˜‰

For my surprise I also noticed my own old 365 album being featured at some point. No idea when it has happened. However, the second photo on that album has now received amazing over 25,000 views. It is interesting because it means people have actually first opened the album from featured photos page and then opened that particular photo. Although, that explains 10,000 visits only. That particular image was also earlier mentioned on MyOpera news, and at that time the picture got also over 13,000 views in short time.

I noticed MyOpera has also added a feature that gives an author a possibility to remove her/his album from featured photos. There seem to be 'remove' link on my picture, which very likely works that way, aka removes the album form featured photos. Nice to know, in case I want to do so :up:

Then there's another way to become famous, which has puzzled me for awhile. Ever noticed the section of popular photographers? It used to puzzle me a lot. Why some accounts become acknowledged like this? Then I noticed the number of subscriptions mentioned on MyOpera photos page. Those subscriptions are for account's albums main page, like in case of P2O2. I realized P2O2 has received high status on popular photographers in very short time. And that has happened partly because he creates new albums quite often. Of course the pictures also must be interesting, but key to that popularity seem to be in number of albums opened. Whether some of those accounts acknowledged as popular photographers are really photographers, is a different issue ๐Ÿ˜€

18 thoughts on “Featured photos and popular photographers

  1. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    There is also the "icon" effect.

    Like using icon of Eeyore in the picture, like I did. Very likely that is the reason for such many views in my case.

  2. I guess on the Internet there is the "what is this?" effect.You put a thumbnail, the image is not easily readable and people click on it to enlarge out of curiosity to see what it really is.I guess the "memorable" images are like "memorable anything", it depends on the emotion, the stronger the emotional impact the image has on you, the better you will remember it. Then I guess people are more likely to have an "empathic/emotional" effect than, say, a picture of a flower in grass field.There is also the "icon" effect. You find the same image associated to some event, again and again, it becomes "iconical".

  3. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    clique

    You think so? Thousands of views or 75 subscriptions can not be explained just with cliques.

  4. I think an image is memorable if it speaks to the audience on some level, and there are many ways that could happen. As for the thumbnails, have you noticed how some images are still striking when reduced to stamp size and/or cropped to a square shape? Those are signs the photographer did something right.

  5. Originally posted by claudeb:

    As for the thumbnails, have you noticed how some images are still striking when reduced to stamp size and/or cropped to a square shape? Those are signs the photographer did something right.

    Indeed I have noticed the same. Clear graphic forms are often best on thumbnails and also on large pictures if you want people notice the images.

  6. Originally posted by serola:

    hat particular image was also earlier mentioned on MyOpera news, and at that time the picture got also over 13,000 views in short time.

    That's a Great Achievement Sami, & Very Good Tutorial Above Sami & your Comment about P202, it Has Inspired Me to Open another Mini Album on my Blog I'll Post up the Link when I've Posted up some Photos a Bit Later on.

  7. Hi Sami,Everyone has a pinch of vanity and he'd like to be spotted over the others. Natural "egotism" to the point it is a part of our nature and where all such "egotisms" end.Let me quote my doubts on the same issue and the answer I got from Isaak Goldstein (now defunct).Me – "Let me add at the end that Opera blogosphere has a lot of magnificent photographers who shoots a marvelous photos but you can't find 'em on the long list (of Popular photographers). So I think the definition is too broadly defined and damn too much stretched (and misleading)."Izaak – "From my first accounts the list is generated according to mathematical formula (equation) embracing image adding frequency and actual number of subscribers. But it looks like only the last days of activity are included in the processing."I have been busy programming in recent days trying to make my blogging here more convenient so I have been publishing images once in two days. My "ranking number" dropped from 86 to 72.I think that Izaak was right – it is rather a promotional tool.Anyway nice to know Sami Serola wrote about P2O2 in his post. ๐Ÿ˜‰ > Whether some of those accounts acknowledged as popular photographers are really photographers, is a different issue.I couldn't agree more. :)Regards

  8. Hi Przemysล‚aw :)Vanity surely is one reason what keep us coming here. I have thought about the reasons why I photograph at all, and surely becoming acknowledged is one of them ๐Ÿ˜€ And for me vanity is a driving force to learn more.Originally posted by P2O2:

    I think that Izaak was right – it is rather a promotional tool.

    Indeed that "popular photographers" is just a promotional tool, and has almost nothing to do with photography. Therefore I was quite surprised to see someone like you, who actually is a photographer, on top three. MyOpera developers should rename the list into something else.

  9. Originally posted by wikipedian:

    What do you think of my photos?

    In general I think you should check more often what Michal Havelka (brunozbruna) does. I suppose you still use that good old SE K800. It has an excellent macro. So, use that and start shooting close-up pictures of simple things. In general any album looks better if there are close-ups, pictures of people and overall views mixed. Thu, your most viewed picture at S&T seem to be this. Like in Orlando's case mentioned above, I would not consider that as memorable picture. However, for some reason it seem to interest peeps, despite (or because) of the tilted horizon and partly cut peeps and lamppost. But your second popular picture really is your masterpiece. There the composition is perfect, and even that alone makes it very good.

  10. I think the Redruth picture's tilted horizon was due to the fact that the town center was on a very steep hill.

  11. Originally posted by wikipedian:

    the town center was on a very steep hill.

    Maybe, but I still recommend trusting on walls of the buildings in center of the image. And if there are not tall enough building in the middle then try to imagine the vertical line there. On that particular picture the wall right next to red car would have been good enough to level the camera.

  12. Interesting post! :up: I may have once known there was such a page as "featured photos", but if I did, I had forgotten about it. It was nice to check it out. But I'm confident I didn't know there was a page of most popular photographers. I have noticed a number of eye-catching albums around here where it turns out that the opera member created it by collecting images that he/she found on the web, so you're right that the photographer might not be a photographer.

  13. Originally posted by debplatt:

    a number of eye-catching albums around here where it turns out that the opera member created it by collecting images that he/she found on the web, so you're right that the photographer might not be a photographer.

    Yes, and that is why those album owners does not deserve acknowledged as photographers.

Reply

