Internet on strike and Opera users don’t even notice it

Today several Web sites like English Wikipedia are on strike against Stop Online Piracy Act. However, Opera users may not even notice this because Wikipedia uses Javascript that does not affect on Opera browsers.

I'm personally strongly against copyright infringements but this act sounds really crazy. It would allow U.S. Department of Justice to close down U.S. servers where any copyright infringement found. So, the service providers would be punished if any of their users do the crime. Moreover, U.S. based global search engines like Google could be then ordered to stop indexing even non U.S. servers where copyright infringements found.

This means the consequences of such law in U.S. would have global affect. The only positive side on this could be that then the rest of the world would start using some other services.

22 thoughts on “Internet on strike and Opera users don’t even notice it

  1. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    US patents are nonsense.

    How does they differ from patents used for example in EU?

  2. I was going to link the wikipedia article but I see it offline. :)As soon as wikipedia resumes, you can make a search for more detailed information.Anyway, to make it simple, patents in the US involve not only the material stuff like a new kind of engine or some chemical but also "concepts". Like you patent the concept of "triangle" and then whoever makes something that is shaped like a triangle must pay you a royalty. This is particularly severe when it comes to software, in fact see for example Mint Linux, whose headquarters are in Ireland, it can include all sort of proprietary codecs and runtimes (flash, java, etc) while Ubuntu Linux (from which it is derived) does not, in fear of possible complaints.In Europe you cannot patent: – discoveries – mathematics – trading, intellectual, gaming methods – software (as method/function/description) – presentation of information – inventions against public safety – animals and vegetables – surgery proceduresEdit: I disabled the styles so I could access wikipedia, see this article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Wright_brothers_patent_warNote that the patent did not involve the exact description of the mechanism but the "concept" of controlling an airplane with the movable parts we all know.

  3. Thank you very much Lorenzo for good and short explanation ๐Ÿ™‚ I believe possible other readers of my blog will appreciate that as well. Wikipedia is on SOPA strike, as I stated on my article, but it does not affect on Opera browsers and mobile browsers.EDIT: I quickly read through the 'Wright brothers patent war' Wikipedia article and it describes well how ridicule these patents can be.

  4. I am aware of this ๐Ÿ™‚ This act is just plain Crazy !Internet is meant to be free and open and it should remain that way.

  5. What's really screwy is that it's often too difficult to be sure if there is an infringement. Since here, as far as I know, things like photos are automatically copyrighted, that might apply to any use unless specifically granted.At least they timed the blackout right. I had other things I had to attend to today.

  6. Welcome back to MyOpera NonZionist :up: Unfortunately MyOpera did not recognize the SOPAstrike in any way. Although, that can be one way to protest the SOPA outside U.S. … Just ignore it and find other "clouds" to stick your head in ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. SOPA / PIPA is sold as an anti-piracy act, but the real aim is internet censorship. I suspect that the U.S. intends to make more war, and fears that people will use the internet to organize against war-making and expose war-crimes. Normally, I am posting on U.S. sites, but today I wanted to honor the SOPA boycott, so I stayed away from the U.S. sites and signed on to Opera instead. It's nice to be back!

  8. Originally posted by decodedthought:

    Internet is meant to be free and open and it should remain that way.

    That is not exactly true, unfortunately, or fortunately, depending from the point of view. Peeps are not allowed to do what ever they want without consequences. But this very act sounds like they start to criminalize those who build walls instead of them who paint graffiti on those walls :left:Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    What's really screw is that it's often too difficult to be sure if there is an infringement.

    What really, really screws is that those who actually try to defend their copyright become blamed :awww: However, this act is not a solution to that problem.Originally posted by qlue:

    bye-bye "First Amendment"

    Not all too familiar with the U.S. laws but I guess you mean 'freedom of speech and the press'. In case of newspapers and traditional mass media, I understand it is relatively easy to say it's the editorial staff who is in responsible for any mistakes done in the media. However, in case of Internet this old system does not work. We clearly need new procedures but what they would be is still not solved.For example here on MyOpera it is not clear what should I do if I find another member infringing my Copyright. I have to make a hell of lot to defend my rights, and even then I've been told I should be just flattered if my works become copied without my permission.Although, I have seriously considered to give Creative Commons license to all my works here, just because I really don't mind if my works become copied. What I hate is people who does not bother to ask.

  9. It's my understanding that the U.S. does not have the power to destroy the internet worldwide. Am I correct? The U.S. can block DNS look-up on U.S. sites, but the same DNS entries are available on foreign sites that the U.S. does not control, so DNS look-ups can be routed to these foreign sites. Is that correct? But this rerouting does not happen automatically? — additional software is needed?I already go outside the U.S. for some of my news — Iran's PressTV and Russia's RT and Britain's Guardian, for example. If the U.S. does try to censor the internet, it will force more Americans to discover the foreign media. And it will also greatly strengthen OWS and other opponents of the Establishment.Kudos to MyOpera for creating such excellent software and such a pleasant environment. Another site with great software is Reddit — but it's not as colorful as My Opera! However, I've been spending most of my time on Care2 recently, where the animated ads choke my computer and the comments have no permalinks and cannot be edited once posted. It makes me appreciate My Opera more! The system here is fast and clean — a joy to type into!

  10. Originally posted by NonZionist:

    It's my understanding that the U.S. does not have the power to destroy the internet worldwide. Am I correct?

    I'm not expert on 'how stuff work' but in case of SOPA/PIPA it could mean the rest of the world would really need to find a punch of new "clouds" instead of Google and some other U.S. based Web services. Wikipedia is so distributed that it would probably survive if English Wikipedia servers in U.S. would become shut down.What comes to SOPA and Google, I think only indexing of foreign sites for search engine could become limited. So, it would not affect on Gmail, Google Docs or many other popular services. However, such a censorship on search engine would probably slow down Google's success story.Originally posted by NonZionist:

    I already go outside the U.S. for some of my news — Iran's PressTV and Russia's RT and Britain's Guardian, for example.

    If I have understood the SOPA correctly, in worst case scenario you would need to search for those Web sites using something else than Google, a search engines that are not restricted by U.S. law.Originally posted by NonZionist:

    comments have no permalinks and cannot be edited once posted

    Here the editing of guest comments is limited to 24 hours. Blog owner can of course edit all comments on her/his blog also later.

  11. Originally posted by qlue:

    bye-bye "First Amendment" if this law get's passed ๐Ÿ™„ .

    So just what is the wording of your first amendment?

  12. I wrote to one of my two senators (couldn't get through to the other one – the online contact form was down from so many users!), and I wrote to my representative in our House of Representatives to urge them to not enact this legislation.

  13. There was such a big outcry from the public that this specific legislation has been tabled. However there is still great pressure from content providers to protect their intellectual property. I'm sure new legislation will be introduced to address their concerns. Hopefully it won't be so badly designed.I don't know if you have heard about "Righthaven". This is an American firm that entered into agreements with various newspapers to sue web sites on the newspaper's behalf if a web site published quotations from one of their partner newspapers. It was terrible. Most of the sites who were sued couldn't afford to pay legal fees to try to defend themselves, so they would often settle out of court, paying damages and often surrendering their domains. Finally a group of web sites banded together with the Electronic Freedom Foundation, and they began countersuing Righthaven which finally stopped them.

  14. Well, Vox Populi has scorched one attempt at draconian rule. Maybe it can stop another? :sherlock: .

Reply

