Memories and moments by Serola, part 3

This is getting interesting. I finally found an explanation I can accept:

If (…) the owner of a website uses in-line linking to display an image rightfully posted on another site, the courts have held that no copyright infringement has taken place. –IT Law Wiki

Like other Wikis, this can not be treated as 100% reliable source, but it pretty much summarize what many other sources say less clearly.

And since in-line linking has happened inside MyOpera server, it is also not "hot linking" in the sense as it is usually understood. There's no bandwidth used any more than me displaying the same image anywhere else around MyOpera. Moreover, there's no risk that the author (me in this case) would replace the image with malicious content since each image gets unique address at MyOpera albums and can't be switched into another by client.

This means I owe an apology to Salim Akhtar for accusing him on copyright infringement, and to MyOpera admins for wasting everyone's time ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

15 thoughts on “Memories and moments by Serola, part 3

  1. But what has that to do with the aluminum vs steel question?I've been wanting a bike frame with the rack welded as part of the frame. Walmart is selling one in aluminum and it's from China! :yikes: should I complain?I also like the Fixie. That clutch was my idea too. If I ever come up with a new design in paperclips I won't complain about $.25 tent stakes. Not even in Fruit of the Loom! :eyes: :sst: did I really say that?I've even considered a brass arc! Currently I'm told I lack adequate potential. :awww:

  2. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    But what has that to do with the aluminum vs steel question?

    Nothing ๐Ÿ™„

  3. or perhaps comments on my own album. I'd say my first really was on and the rhetorical ? was just my form of expression that should be easily understood.

  4. well it does if you consider the new and improved paper clip idea and how frustrating it could be.

  5. The interesting thing about these rhetorical questions are that they pretty much seem to ignore what the topic is :p

  6. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    I'd say my thoughts all ran along the line of "copywrite infringement".

    So, the aluminum vs steel question is somehow connected to copyright infringements? :confused: I am not even sure what the "aluminum vs steel question" is.

  7. No, I'd say my thoughts all ran along the line of "copywrite infringement". Just not this particular case or medium.

  8. This means I owe an apology to Salim Akhtar for accusing him on copyright infringement, and to MyOpera admins for wasting everyone's time

    Not a waste of time, Sami. You raised interesting questions, and I firmly believe, even if a direct copyright infringement is not made, that credit should be given to the photographer or artist whenever known.

  9. I don't remember what the code is for that one and I'm not sure what you're saying. :lol::troll: Oh. The smilies worked this time. You telling me to go fish?I had 3 sisters no brothers then mom died and dad remarried. I became jerry lewis and never trolled for blues again. Walked the dogs though. Ha ha ๐Ÿ™„ and no I'm not like madoff's son about it at all. ๐Ÿ˜†

Reply

