No time to edit


I found this interesting story today:

Jasper Johns early artworks question how we look at, perceive and make art. He does not distinguish between subject and object in his work, or art and life for that matter. In his eyes they are both the same thing. Johns believes that we should not look upon a painting as a representation or illusion but as an object with its own reality. –John MacTaggart

That made me think my own photography from totally different perspective. I like to photograph my everyday life on daily bases. But do I really want to represent it? Or do I rather want to create something "with its own reality"? I guess both. I still like to become a better documentary photographer. But I also want to seek new ways to see things. Or even create new things.

I have somewhat learned enough basic editing and want to learn something new. But as always I'm lazy, or I have no time to do more complex editing step by step. So, I decided to try ready made scripts and see what they are good for. The challenge is to find good subject for the script, and vice versa, good script for the subject. So, less step by step editing in the near future and more use of ready made scripts. And maybe some day I find time to learn how to do fancy script myself.

But that's only what is going to happen here on my personal albums. At Shoot & Tell I still of course use only what rules of that group say. It's actually very much like Jekyll & Hide. Here I learn sorcery but at S&T I study mastery.

12 thoughts on “No time to edit

  1. And I've just gotten about to 5% of my 99 XP tweaks today. already running faster. I've 3 photos that i wanted to post that I took on the way south through Tucson but can't think clear enough right now as to the text I want to add. It's 11:30am and the heat still comes on strong here. Just touching base.You should be a master sorcerer by now! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Oh Sami :doh: very good post! During last year's 365 project, I'm just puzzled. I also wanted to be more documentary, but it is very difficult. I always try to make the resulting picture is as much me or better to "how I see it". Unfortunately, sometimes I am more influenced by overall finish editing photos … ๐Ÿ˜† :cheers:

  3. Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    "how I see it".

    On your photo, it is also seen. You see death in color … ๐Ÿ˜€ :cheers:

  4. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    You should be a master sorcerer by now!

    It is like science. The more you learn, you only find out how little you actually know :DOriginally posted by brunozbruna:

    I also wanted to be more documentary, but it is very difficult.

    Michal – I often worry you must think I'm not very sincere because I have been standing behind those strict rules at 365 and S&T :awww: I hope you understand I have only tried to do it for the good cause. It is so difficult to explain ๐Ÿ˜ฎ But I try in short: I simply support those who express good arguments. Unfortunately that means the power is often held by the majority who win the argumentation ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Western democracy is funny. We give power for few active spokesmen and women, who then speak us around to do most peculiar things like grow straight cucumbers :eyes:But luckily we can also be "indies" around here at MyOpera by having our own blogs and albums :coffee:Originally posted by brunozbruna:

    You see death in color

    :yes:

  5. Originally posted by serola:

    I often worry you must think I'm not very sincere because I have been standing behind those strict rules at 365 and S&T

    ๐Ÿ’ก I finally know who the culprit! :lol:Originally posted by serola:

    I hope you understand I have only tried to do it for the good cause. It is so difficult to explain

    :yes: of course! :coffee:

  6. Johns believes that we should not look upon a painting as a representation or illusion but as an object with its own reality.

    I have always understood art in Johns' terms. In fact, I get surprised when people don't look at it in that way.

Reply

