Sideways

PRESSURE
RESISTANCE
RESTORATION
ATTENTION
MOTION
ISOLATION

Sideways was an idea to turn the picture 90 degrees either left or right in purpose. The goal was to see how the interpretation of an image changes because of this. But this theme turned out much more difficult in practice than I thought. Only on few images I was able to achieve something new and interesting. One thing that may work is the direction of light. Objects where light usually comes from above get new interesting look when lit either from left or right. Then usual western way to see the movement going from left to right can add some interest. But at least I learned something new on CSS when writing this post. Font opacity and background image width seem to be supported finally.

9 thoughts on “Sideways

  1. Unfortunately you have set "opacity" for the whole page, including avatars, links, top menus, etc.

  2. I've got strips across the page as tall as the text that signigies the links, Sami. Only the steamroller one worked but that might just be someting else. I get a blank page when navigating from comments on this version also. I'll chk again.

  3. Reminds me of gymnastics and judging rotation. I still wish my high school had had more crash pads. 😆

  4. Thank you for fast feedback Lorenzo. I'm sure you are right but I need to visit optician because I can't see the 20% degrees in opacity.I'm using Firefox 3.6.22 and Opera 11.51.And I noticed the background-size still does not work on Firefox. Or I have implemented that wrong.

  5. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    Unfortunately you have set "opacity" for the whole page, including avatars, links, top menus, etc.

    Not sure what you mean. I guess you unfortunately use browser that does not work right with:

    table.behind span { filter: alpha(opacity= 50); -moz-opacity: .50; opacity: .50; color:red;}

    Or unfortunately I have done something wrong.Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    I've got strips across the page as tall as the text that signigies the links

    Pretty much what you should get because I used images as backgrounds. However, at least on Opera Mini the font sizes are not what I expected.

  6. Right now I am using Firefox and I see text over images with some opacity set.When I wrote the above comments I saw the text over images with lower opacity (like 20%) but also top menues, page links, avatars, etc, had the same opacity.I should verify the current implementation. In the past you could set opacity over an HTML element but then anything inside got the same opacity, regardless.

  7. So, I'm using Operamini at the moment. Am I seeing what you intended Sami? Or must I re-visit with the desktop version to see it correctly? :left:.

  8. Originally posted by qlue:

    I'm using Operamini at the moment. Am I seeing what you intended Sami?

    Good enough. Background images are not downsized and font sizes are more or less fixed for Opera Mini. So, you see the text links or colorful stripes, and that's all.

Reply

