Analog diversions

Inspired by Richard I picked some old photos of mine, and reproduced them using digital camera. But instead of just making copies of them, I experienced some "analog tricks" to "show old pictures in new light". This is something I have always liked to do: combine multiple slides together and shoot objects together with pictures either projected or as prints. In some way it is much more interesting and rewarding than using "digital sampling". And some of the pictures I worked with during last week were already kind of experiments. For example the print of Honey B is already made out of using two negatives. Then on shooting old dia slides with macro lens, I used back lights that are far from ideal all around white light. The Shaman was especially fun experiment where I used color pencil to get some color to the picture. I just colored the paper behind the negative and then inverted it on software.

EDIT: And here's what you should/could listen to while watching: http://magnatune.com/artists/albums/stargarden-art/

14 thoughts on “Analog diversions

  1. Fascinating results, Sami! :yes: All very interesting, I like them all, particularly your inventive black and white montage. Inspiring!

  2. Thank you Abhinav and Zdenko :)Originally posted by decodedthought:

    scary set of photos

    :right: Did not thought they could look scary ๐Ÿ˜€ Goal was to make them look dreamy ๐Ÿ˜†

  3. I'll have to get around to the recordings, Sami. And return the favor with a link to some I've down loaded. But, I'm pretty wasted right now. :up:Think that's a real elk I'm hearing right now? :lol:How about the bull in the center of the road this morning? ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Tom, welcome back online ๐Ÿ™‚ Here you can only hear MP3s falling and see the bugs fly ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. :confused: you mean it's not "speed metal"? The link's I'm referring to are "meditation" music too. Don't listen if you have epilepsy! :no:http://www.lulu.com/meditationSorry, no links to individual recordings. My hand's getting cold! The sun is shining on that hill over there though! :yes:

  6. Tom, I thought you meant real elks and bulls you have seen lately ๐Ÿ˜€ My nature experiences are still very limited.

  7. I've seen real,(unless I'm hallucinating), but there are a multitude of psychos with guns that justify their behavior by pretending to be hunters. I can even make a passable elk bugle of my shakuhachi. I can't be sure of all I hear. PS my coffee press is also missing this morning. It bores, yet, angers me. Now I'm just supposed to die from loss of face? That kinda thing used to be occassional along the road. Now it's constant and, of course, I'll be labeled the "violent' one in any response to it all. ๐Ÿ˜€ I promise

Reply

