Which one is better?

There's a construction site to follow outside my window at work. But I took this picture to show the weather front that seem to be stuck there for the whole day. Sun shines somewhere there but not here.

This is also an example how difficult photography can be because of high contrast when shooting against light and trying to get either the sky or ground correctly exposed. One just can't get both without extreme tricks. Contrast masking once again was a solution to get some sort of a compromise. But which one is better? Or should one just shoot either the sky and forget the ground or vice versa?

18 thoughts on “Which one is better?

  1. My answer is then; For what purpose and in what circumstance? I'd prefer to be able to set up a blind or even take a whole day for one landscape shot but that is difficult when scrambling between the hot sun and shade on a desert trail, for sure. ๐Ÿ˜† and action doesn't always occur at convenient times. I'm juggling too much, sometimes, but, mostly not enough! :jester: ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    For what purpose and in what circumstance?

    Touchรฉ! ๐Ÿ˜† Obviously someone reads what I'm writing around here ๐Ÿ˜€ Well, if one would want to tell the story I just told in the first paragraph and there's only one picture to illustrate it, then what to do?So, the story goes:

    There's a construction site to follow outside my window at work. But I took this picture to show the weather front that seem to be stuck there for the whole day. Sun shines somewhere there but not here.

    Is it enough to show just the silhouette of cranes against the sky where one can see the weather front? Or would it be nice to see also what happens on the ground?

  3. Isn't it possible to take 2 photos, one for each exposure and then overlap them? I don't find that possibility very convenient but you're doing tricks like that all the time. When I was down in the narrow canyon of Hermit Creek I took multiple exposures for that reason but really with the intent of referring to the photo for artwork. (That's even more farfetched right now ๐Ÿ˜† ). :up:

  4. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Isn't it possible to take 2 photos, one for each exposure and then overlap them?

    Yes, and that is usually called as HDR technique and is usually done with 3 pictures. But as I try to prove with my example, even mobile phone can have surprisingly extensive dynamic range already, thus giving possibility to produce acceptable picture using contrast masking.The ultimate question still goes: which one is better?

  5. Do you have it in UV and infra red as well?As well as one across the bow? For rents icks.

  6. Originally posted by qlue:

    This photo was taken with a mobile? Was it a Nokia by any chance?

    Mobile but not Nokia. I have ZTE Blade. Yes, that stigmata is actually quite annoying.I've been trying different editing techniques and tonight I think I finally discovered something that works, at least for me:

  7. This photo was taken with a mobile? Was it a Nokia by any chance? :sherlock:.The reason I ask is because it seems to have a distinctive stigmata similar to what my phone produces. The centre is slightly more red (or magenta?)while the border has a bluish hue. :left:.As to your question, I prefer the one on the right. :up:.

  8. @Sami Well then, do you have any more showing more of the sky? :lol:The one on the right shows more of the construction but the one on the left is consistent with your caption, which would be the point of the photo, wouldn't it?

  9. I wonder if it's the lens or the imaging element that causes this? :sherlock:.So you manage to eliminate the colour distortion? What technique do you use? :left:.

  10. Originally posted by qlue:

    I wonder if it's the lens or the imaging element that causes this?

    No idea :confused:Originally posted by qlue:

    So you manage to eliminate the colour distortion? What technique do you use?

    Sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Uploaded wrong image. Here's the right one and the explanation for GIMP:1) Duplicate layer and add alpha channel into it for transparency. 2) Select blend tool and set mode for 'add color', gradient for 'from foreground to transparent' and shape for 'circle'.3) Set foreground color for cyan.4) Use blend tool to draw line from center to one corner (on duplicate layer). You should get cyan round shape that blends to background.5) Set opacity of that layer approximately to 10% (almost completely transparent. Very brutal way but I think is better than do nothing :DOriginally posted by Frlmnk:

    do you have any more showing more of the sky?

    That was not the point but you can crop one third from the bottom of the picture away and there you have what I had in mind :p EDIT: Like this…

  11. Some experimenting last night produced a different method to remove the pink. Add extra layer with transparent background. Use freehand select with feathering set between 50 and 80. Draw roughly around area that appears pink to select. Fill with cyan. Set layer mode to overlay. Adjust transparency to suit. Repeat for any small areas you might miss. :up:.(P.S: That's using GIMP.)

  12. Originally posted by qlue:

    Some experimenting last night produced a different method to remove the pink.

    Your method sounds actually better :up: How about combining them? I don't know why I thought it would be necessary to use duplicate layer. One can just as well use blend tool for empty transparent layer like you did with selection tool. Moreover, 'Overlay' (or 'Soft light') is a good point.

  13. But I still think 'blend tool' would give much nicer transition than selection tool. I try both this weekend :sherlock:

  14. I first tried with the oval select, but the result was too sharp and 'obvious' that there was an oval shape used. The freehand select gave me more control. :up:.

  15. Originally posted by qlue:

    I just don't know where blend is or how to access it.

    It's one right from the pain bucket. I also just figured out what would be the perfect approach to this "selective color balance" issue and I will write a post about it today evening. Much better than painting with cyan is to use blend tool to select an area and then do the color balance for this selected area. Paint always covers but color balance ain't :up:If you just can't wait then have a peek here how the blend tool can be used: http://www.bartbusschots.ie/blog/?p=774

Reply

