Get a grip

My friend has a problem. Big DSLR cameras are heavy and tricky to hold, especially with one hand, especially on cameras with no proper finger grip, and especially if you have small hands. There comes situations when you would like or have to hold camera with one hand and it really is not easy. So, I gave it a thought and found a workaround. I usually always wrap the camera's neck band around my wrist. Then I had an idea. What if I also wrap it around the lens?! And there was the answer. Now I can hold with three fingers under the loop that goes around lens and at least for me the hold is much more steady and comfortable. I hope this works also for those who have small hands :up:

35 thoughts on “Get a grip

  1. Thanks for the tip, Sami. I'll give it a go. :D[Update]Yes, it works. :yes: I use a wider and thicker strap, which has some curious visual effect. But the camera is well supported. I'll take a picture to show you tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚ (It's too dark for into a mirror pic right now.)

  2. :eyes: it is a great idea! :yes: And it is far more practical than to grow a third arm! :lol:However, make sure the strap will not touch the lens moving parts, like the focus ring (the only one I remember… ๐Ÿ˜€ ), or it will induce stress over it. It could happen with larger straps.

  3. Originally posted by ojsnascimento:

    However, make sure the strap will not touch the lens moving parts, like the focus ring

    Originally posted by serola:

    it makes difficult to use zoom, and definitely makes impossible to use manual focus ring.

    Yes. I found the original method did cover the zoom ring and made it impossible to change the zoom level. Since then I've tried several different methods and now settled to wrap the strap around my forearm severa; times. It produces almost as good support as Sami's around the lens approach. I'll keep experimenting and will report back on the best solution. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Good point Orlando ๐Ÿ™‚ This trick may not work with all camera models and lenses, it makes difficult to use zoom, and definitely makes impossible to use manual focus ring. On new Olympus lenses the narrowish strap only hides the zoom lens. Folks, as you can see from the pictures, I'm using my own custom neck band, which is quite soft and comfortable :happy:

  5. Too many buttons and options to manipulate with one hand on mine, Sami. I've been using an "Ultrapod" mini tripod and that helps keep a grip on it. Now, if I could just get someone to carry my pack as well.

  6. And another person to hold your cat? ๐Ÿ˜ฅ@Sami I concluded wrapping the strap three times around wrist does a perfect job. I would still need to grow the third arm to hold the cat for a better photo, though. :p

  7. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Now, if I could just get someone to carry my pack as well.

    ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†

  8. I have the problem with our D90, i got small hands and to ensure safety while taking the photo, i always hang the sling on my neck or wrap it in my wrist. Have to try doing the tip next time.

  9. Thats ๐Ÿ˜Ž our nikon sling/band is quite wide so wrapping it like in your tip is a bit difficult to adjust the zoom. Good tip though.

  10. Congratulations for a new camera Zena :hat: I'm glad if any of the suggestions here (including comments by others) helps you :happy:

  11. Hi…Sami, I just bought my new camera, and I tried to make some shot, but holding the camera it's difficult than I thought, makes me very nervous, anyway it's good to see you blog, very helpful!:yes: :nervous: ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Thank you Sami…yes that's why I added this blog, so I know where to find it easily…I had been reading a while too…and to help myself to get less shaky hands, I decided to cut my nails so I can easily hold the camera and start a few shot just simple a object and get use to it…Hahaha!:yes: :happy:

  13. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    I decided to cut my nails so I can easily hold the camera

    ๐Ÿ˜† What one would not do for photography :D"Fotografia necesse est, vivere non est necesse." :jester:

  14. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    I decided to cut my nails so I can easily hold the camera

    :no:

  15. Oversized, padded straps work wonders: there are also these camera holding things that fit around your chest and hold your camera up like that. Given your hiking around, I don't suppose you'd like carrying a lightweight tripod everywhere?

  16. Originally posted by gargoyle38:

    padded straps work wonders

    :yes: Here's my way to use one. Although I removed the pad.http://my.opera.com/serola/blog/2012/12/02/tuning-a-hand-strapOriginally posted by gargoyle38:

    camera holding things that fit around your chest and hold your camera up like that

    That sounds like a good idea for a 'photo safari' :up:Originally posted by gargoyle38:

    I don't suppose you'd like carrying a lightweight tripod everywhere?

    Tripod is good for static subjects but does not work for daily based photography when shooting all kinds of fast situations and moments. Therefore some sort of strap is the best.

  17. Originally posted by gargoyle38:

    there are also these camera holding things that fit around your chest and hold your camera up like that.

    I have one that I use for my Oly "compact" DSLR … It works beautifully, and the cam is always ready. A heavier cam, like my Nikon, though, is a very different story, especially as it is very "nose heavy". It is not comfortable at all, and very awkward to bring into battery, if you'll excuse the term. The device may be available with much stronger elastic, but I don't know. It was invented to hold hunters' binoculars, to keep them from swinging about and fetching up against hard objects. This is the label from the package:

  18. Originally posted by serola:

    What one would not do for photography

    I mean easy to pressed the button shot…don't worry I'm not cutting my fingers just shorten my nails…Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:

    I decided to cut my nails so I can easily hold the camera

    :no: ๐Ÿ˜† :awww: Anyway, good to read all the idea's and comments…and fun too! Hahaha…Learning other things…:)

  19. Originally posted by serola:

    "Fotografia necesse est, vivere non est necesse."

    I think I don't get this Sami….pls. translate! I am dutch not Finland…:no: ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. A loose spot translation might be:Photography is necessary while living is not as essential

  21. Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    I think I don't get this Sami….pls. translate! I am dutch not Finland…

    That should be Latin :pOriginally posted by gargoyle38:

    A loose spot translation might be:Photography is necessary while living is not as essential

    That's right :yes: But of course only kidding :jester:

Reply

