Name the band!

I decided to participate to MyOpera's Name the band! contest. Finding the songs was easy, to be sure they are what required is not. Fun part was to seek some curiosities to all of those songs. I must say I learned a lot. Most of the songs were familiar but usually one just listens them and do not think the stories behind the songs. In the contest rules it is required to tell the name of the artist(s), song title and reference to Opera press release where the song names were found. I went through the article from start to end. So, I have all songs here in same order as they appeared in the article. Moreover, I provide link to Wikipedia article on the title. Then the curiosities comes in the text. I feel reluctant to embed any illustrations or videos made by others on my blog. Therefore I give you some illustration of my own from the monkey business series I had at 365 Photos group last year. Please do check all those links I give and have fun :up: …

1) Led Zeppelin, Whole lotta love, "Whole lotta love"

Plagiarism or not :confused: I did not knew Willie Dixon sued Led Zeppelin and won the case :sherlock: I guess we are soon running out melodies and words ๐Ÿ˜€

2) Rolling Stones, (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction, "Can't get no satisfaction"

Melodies can come while you're asleep ๐Ÿ™‚ Making music and songs seem to work in two directions. Sometimes the melody comes first, sometimes it's the lyrics that pops into song writers mind.

3) ABBA, Head over heels, "head over heels"

When I was a teen, girls in our school were ABBA fans and boys dig Finnish Hurriganes. Oh, how innocent we kids were then, knowing so little of games played by adults.

But a funny thing is how different covers there are often made from popular songs. For example Finnish singing group Rajaton has made this rather interesting cover song from ABBA's Head Over Heels.

4) Madonna, Cherish, "cherish"

Funny thing about Internet is that you never can't be sure what is the original source and what is really true. But here's one interesting anecdote about Herb Ritts who directed the Cherish video for Madonna:

When she told Ritts she wanted him to direct the "Cherish" video, Ritts reportedly tried to talk her out of it saying, "But I'm a still photographer. I don't know anything about film." Undaunted, Madonna replied simply, "Well you have a few weeks to learn." –Michael

And it looks like Ritts learned it quite alright ๐Ÿ™‚

5) Fatboy Slim aka Norman Cook, Weapon of Choice, "weapon of choice"

They have a cool video but certainly not the best ever :p But surely you won't attract the worm if you walk without the rhythm. No idea what song writer had in mind but intertextual references to David Lynch, and the way how the video looks like a scene from movie Shine, makes the song rather gloomy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

6) U2, I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For, "still havenโ€™t found what you are looking for"

Have you already found the meaning of U2 Lyrics? Well do not look any further but visit U2Mol :hat: And yes, the song really sounds like there's some sort of spiritual seek going on.

7) Fleetwood Mac, Don't Stop, "don't stop"

There's actually pretty nice lyrics :up: That's the best thing to do after breaking up.

8) Tom Jones, What's New Pussycat?, "What's New Pussycat?"

The film was planned to star by Warren Beatty because the title was Beatty's way of answering the telephone. And there's an interesting lifestyle. Sleeping all the way to the top ๐Ÿ˜† I can't understand how someone can fall on phrases like that. Although, maybe the package can be better than wrapping :p And what is your favorite line to hit bedfellows?

9) Sade, Smooth operator, "Smooth operator"

Popular songs become popular phrases :sherlock: But I'm sure no one really like to become a smooth operator :worried: I remember when I heard this song for the first time and never before actually gave much thought for the story told.

10) U2, Sweetest Thing, "sweetest Thing"

Hell of a way to apologies wife's forgotten birthday! :wizard: I remember seeing the video on MTV long time ago. And it fills me with admire and astonishment. Maybe there's some trick done but it still is well done :up:

11) The Beatles, Twist and Shout, "twist and shout"

Sore throat? Then it's time to twist and SHOUT :sing:

No one can remember who it was that suggested โ€œTwist And Shoutโ€ at this point (possibly George Martin) but, despite Johnโ€™s voice being especially gone by that time, he reluctantly agreed to sing it. He โ€œsucked on a couple more Zubesโ€ throat sweets, gargled with some milk, took his shirt off (for some reason) and went back with the band to record the final song of the day. So the decision to do the song appears to be a true last minute decision. -Phil Medley โ€“ Bert Russell Berns

Then some singers prefer to make it permanent by smoking cigars and drinking whiskey :drunk:

12) The Beatles, Let It Be, "let it be"

According to Jerry Wexler and David Ritz in the liner notes to the CD โ€œAretha Franklin โ€“ The Queen of Soulโ€, Paul McCartney wrote this song for Aretha Franklin but with the condition of right for first release. However, other sources tells Aretha actually released her recording two months before Beatles. Does this mean Aretha made a cover song beforehand? ๐Ÿ˜€

One of the most notable covers was by Aretha Franklin, who cut her version in 1969, before the one by the Beatles had been released, and issued it at about the exactly the same time the Beatles' rendition came out. –Richie Unterberger

And then the worst cover ๐Ÿ˜€

13) Kiss, Shout It Out Loud, "shout it out loud"

Can't help it but they also make me to think This Is Spinal Tap mockumentary :jester: And another association is Strongbad ๐Ÿ˜†

14) Keane, Is It Any Wonder?, "Is it any wonder?"

Being a citizen is not easy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And history repeats itself…

I guess you could say it's a very political song. It's just trying to make sense of the fact that Britain could be attacking other countries on very devious grounds, when we've always grown up thinking that you're always a part of society that's essentially a power for good in the world. -Tim

15) Scorpions, Rock You Like a Hurricane, "rock you like a hurricane"

And here's another heavy metal band ๐Ÿ˜† But they seem to know how to rock the ladies :flirt:

16) The Righteous Brothers, You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin', "youโ€™ve lost that loving feeling"

I became aware of this song thanks to The Flying Pickets and their cover version :up: That was over 20 years ago when one friend brought the Flying Pickets LP from Sweden. Nowadays almost all music in world can be either stolen or bought from internet. I rather buy it but surely it is still nice to just watch or listen rarities for free ๐Ÿ™‚

17) Neil Young, Don't Let It Bring You Down, "donโ€™t let it bring you down"

Oh, I must say I don't like Neil Young's voice :left: How about Sting singing the same with his band Last Exit? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sting's voice is much better, I think.

18) A-ha, The Sun Always Shines on T.V., "The sun always shines on TV"

Now we are talking about best videos ever ๐Ÿ˜€ A-ha's Take On Me is the best music video of all time, at least for me :happy: But has anyone wondered what happened to Morten Harket and Bunty Bailey? Well Bunty teaches dance to the children and Morten seems to be dating ๐Ÿ˜€

19) The Who, Who Are You, "Who are you?"

Are there any better inspiration for songs than true life experiences? :p So, don't worry if you wake up in a strange place and see unfamiliar faces. You can always make a song out of it.

20) Big Joe Turner, Shake, Rattle and Roll, "shake, rattle and roll"

Bill Hailey and Elvis Presley made this song a legend. Although, Big Joe Turner deserves the glory :up:

21) Coldplay, Speed of Sound, "speed of sound"

Fatherhood can be ๐Ÿ˜Ž

22) The Waterboys, The Whole of the Moon, "the whole of the moon"

I keep forgetting C.S. Lewis was Irish:

"The Whole of the Moon" pays homage to those who had affected Mike Scott's artistic growth, ranging from Prince to Irish writer C.S. Lewis. –Brett Hartenbach

23) Electric Light Orchestra, Strange Magic, "strange magic"

I feel a little ashamed to admit I listened ELO a lot when I was just a kid ๐Ÿ˜€ Although, their Telephone Line still rocks :sing:

24) Siouxsie and the Banshees, Fireworks, "fireworks"

All Swedish are going to dislike me because I select the Fireworks by Siouxsie and the Banshees before Roxette. However, I was a big fan of Siouxsie Sioux, and her songs made with Budgie (Peter Edward Clarke) in their band Creatures are interesting :yes:

25) Leonard Cohen, Hallelujah, "hallelujah"

Leonard Cohen, a secret Canadian sonic weapon :jester: My brother used to listen Cohen a lot, and I got my fare ration as well ๐Ÿ™„

26) Gwen Stefani, What You Waiting For?, "What you waiting for?"

I think I'm too old for the fashion like Harajuku :eyes: I would never wear something like that :p But Gwen sure has good songs though.

27) Aerosmith, Walk This Way, "Walk this way"

Now this rocks! :headbang: And version made by Run-D.M.C. is absolutely hilarious ๐Ÿ˜†

7 thoughts on “Name the band!

  1. Thanks folks ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm busy this week so forgive me if not being active around here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Originally posted by serola:

    I'm busy this week so forgive me if not being active around here

    :left: :right: :awww: :coffee: ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Your entry looks way better than mine! But I hope I'm the only one getting all the songs correct ;). Good luck though. P.S. I reminded you of this comp how about sharing with me the prize if you win :P.

Reply

