A sign

Something that suggests the presence or existence of a fact, condition, or quality. (TheFreedictionary)

I guess some of you have read your Barthes but let's not get too semiotic! In short the sign shows that something is going on. Even the most simple lifeforms are able to recognize and learn signs. Fire may burn you and fast approaching object may hurt you. But understanding some more complex significance requires a much more effort put into learning the possible meanings of signs.

And what does this sign mean? At least it means someone was there and wanted to make a statement. I leave it to you to find out what that statement is.

28 thoughts on “A sign

  1. it could be chinese or japanese, but really difficult to find, to much of this subject in internet! :sherlock: :doh:

  2. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Doesn't Google have a visual search option these days or was that some other engine?

    It's called Google Goggles. I just tried it but it does not seem to search the sign very well.I draw the sign on paper, used Google Goggles on it, but got just number of pictures where some line art picture drawn on white paper. In other words the similarity was limited only on colors and "style", not in the actual shape of the symbol.

  3. Doesn't Google have a visual search option these days or was that some other engine?A-epsilon-O at G or is that g?Your giving me toroids, buzz me up already!

  4. Intriguing photo. Alchemical symbol? Kanji?Perhaps it is more fun because it is mystifying… a secret in plain view.

  5. It's not any alchemical symbol that I can match. It may be two or more runes mixed together. :sherlock:.Kinda looks like a soccer field. :left:.

  6. Originally posted by qlue:

    Kinda looks like a soccerfield. .

    :confused:Sami, I once read a book on Taoist talismans and it does resemble some of them to me. Where's it from?

  7. Google Goggles only works on iPhone or Android! :irked:I knew you were trying to give me toroids. ๐Ÿ˜†

  8. Originally posted by qlue:

    Kinda looks like a soccer field.

    And it also remind me basket ball.

  9. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Taoist talismans and it does resemble some of them to me. Where's it from?

    Could be :left: I try to find out when I have more time.Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Google Goggles only works on iPhone or Android!

    Oh sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Forgot to mention that :DOriginally posted by debplatt:

    Alchemical symbol? Kanji?

    Maybe… Although, I think someone have just made her/his own personal tag :DOriginally posted by qlue:

    Kinda looks like a soccer field.

    :yes:Originally posted by zdenotim:

    it also remind me basket ball

    :yes: :yes: ๐Ÿ˜†

  10. Originally posted by Olgita:

    ZH – ะ–

    Yeah but, no but, this one is sideways :DOriginally posted by Frlmnk:

    found this gallery

    ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†

  11. Not a standard Japanese character. That much I can tell you. ;)Originally posted by serola:

    I think someone have just made her/his own personal tag

    I incline to think this, too. For example this is J R R Tolkein's monogram, now the official trademark of the Tolkien Estate.[Addendum]It could be possible that this is a very deformed version of the character ็ฑณ (Chinese/Japanese character for rice), either a very bad writing or a conscious attempt to stylise the character into some sort of symbol.

  12. Or a westerner trying to write a Japanese letter without knowing how to write Japanese? :left:.

  13. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Did you know that caligraphy was another form of Zen meditation?

    No I did not ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh that's what kept the monks sane ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. I've read about Etruscan frescoes also. They had cobble stone roads in that neighborhood as well. Maybe that's a cause I can really sink my teeth into? :confused:

  15. Camouflaged hand signals?Did you know that caligraphy was another form of Zen meditation? Like watercolors.

  16. That's; "not all". Parkinsons or Epilepsy were difficult diagosis in the middle ages as well.

  17. It looks like the mutilated escape plan of xena in xena warriorprincess, the black (birdname). Yes it is personal but not exactly the way you think. Nothing really is what it looks in that tvseries.

Reply

