Happy Holidays


Here in Finland we call the time of the year as 'Joulu' or 'Jul' in Swedish, and we start celebrating it on evening of 24st of December. We Fin(n)s have always been rather impatient. So, we start having fun and drink all the available booze already day before the actual holiday. Today in the evening we eat plenty. Then comes Joulupukki aka Julgubbe (Santa) and gives presents for everyone. We stay up late and play some board games. In our family the favorite is Carcassonne.

38 thoughts on “Happy Holidays

  1. Aww, those two look so sad.Good thing that sea is frozen up here, so we don't have to worry about those impatient fins :p not that there would be any impatient fins in there anyways, few impatient Finns might be swimming there however ;)Happy holidays.

  2. Merry Christmas!Happy New Year!And whatever else suits your fancy to be celebrating. Put a HUGE log on the fire for me, Sami!

  3. @ Sami – I had your blog subscribed but I have never got any notice on my subscriptions page. I have now tried to unsubscribe and subscribe again, but there are no messages that let me know if I want to receive notice for new blog posts. How come? :left:

  4. Is that a trick question? Sami's afraid of trick questions. Maybe he'll be back online after New Years. πŸ˜† :cheers:

  5. Cheers folks! Originally posted by Leevi:

    Good thing that sea is frozen up here, so we don't have to worry about those impatient fins

    :doh: πŸ˜† New word learned πŸ’‘ Thanks Leevi :DOriginally posted by Frlmnk:

    Put a HUGE log on the fire for me, Sami!

    I will, as soon as I find a place to put up the fire. Meanwhile I just have to turn the central heating a little warmer and turn on an extra lamp.Originally posted by Zephirine:

    I have now tried to unsubscribe and subscribe again, but there are no messages that let me know if I want to receive notice for new blog posts. How come?

    I have no idea :confused: Anyone else having the same problem, here or anywhere else? And I should check a few blogs where I should be subscribed ASAP.Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Sami's afraid of trick questions.

    That's rather strong way to put it :p There's nothing to be afraid of in tricky questions. Answers are the one to be afraid :devil:

  6. :confused: :worried: 😦 :nervous: No Yule log? How will you know when to sober up?:drunk:

  7. Strange! :sherlock:.I'm on Operamini now and there is no checkbox asking if you want to receive notifications. :left:.It doesn't affect me in any other way though. :up:.I receive the notifications without problems. :up:.

  8. Originally posted by serola:

    Zeph, I seem to have no problems at all getting news at my.opera.com/account/newsAre you sure you have subscribed to blogs on the blogs front page? If you subscribe on individual blog article then that's what you get ( no news on any other articles).

    Of course I have used the front blog page, but when I click on subscribe it should appear a little pop-up that ask if I want to receive notification. Nothing appears here. I'll wait for a new post to see if there will be changes. Thanks for now! πŸ™‚

  9. Zeph, I seem to have no problems at all getting news at my.opera.com/account/newsAre you sure you have subscribed to blogs on the blogs front page? If you subscribe on individual blog article then that's what you get ( no news on any other articles).Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    How will you know when to sober up?

    Are you kidding? That's easy! πŸ˜€ When booze runs out. Well, seriously speaking I personally have alcohol problem. I seem to have plenty of booze left in the cupboard and no desire to drink it away. So, I'm no typical Fin(n) πŸ˜†

  10. Zeph, I seem to have no problems at all getting news at my.opera.com/account/newsAre you sure you have subscribed to blogs on the blogs front page? If you subscribe on individual blog article then that's what you get ( no news on any other articles).Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    How will you know when to sober up?

    Are yo kidding? That's easy! πŸ˜€ When booze runs out. Well, seriously speaking I personally have alcohol problem. I seem to have plenty of booze left in the cupboard and no desire to drink it away. So, I'm no typical Fin(n) πŸ˜†

  11. Originally posted by Zephirine:

    when I click on subscribe it should appear a little pop-up that ask if I want to receive notification

    Oh, same thing for me when I try to subscribe to any blog. No questions asked, notifications just start to appear on news page.

  12. I should be grateful, my whole life is simpler. In Cal the news is showing cars half buried in mud! :yikes: I might have stayed there!

  13. :confused: you have a cupboard? What's it like, having a cupboard? :lol:I use an amo box. It keeps the mice out. πŸ˜† alcohol would fall under the catagory of flamable substances, so that's out. πŸ™„ I wonder if that would be like being an oil tycoon in Texas? I know it's not like being a cop in Conn.!I'm sorry, maybe Christmass is wearing off. :sst: I think I'm jealous of H Hefner too! :awww:

  14. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    What's it like, having a cupboard?

    Feels like having problems of propertied classes πŸ˜€

  15. Originally posted by Zephirine:

    but when I click on subscribe it should appear a little pop-up that ask if I want to receive notification

    That's started recently! It just subscribes automatically after clicking now! :up:.I guess the My Opera Devs finally realised that you wouldn't be clicking it if you didn't want to subscribe! :p.

  16. Originally posted by qlue:

    That's started recently! Itjust subscribesautomatically afterclicking now!

    I didn't know that either! But why doesn't she receive any notice?

  17. Originally posted by qlue:

    That's started recently! It just subscribes automatically after clicking now! :up:

    But the pop-up still appears in other blogs or photo albums!! :confused:

  18. Heavy Man! Kinda like : "Give me liberty or give me liberty"http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mehmet_Akif_Ersoy?wasRedirected=trueMaybe you should write a blog about the guy. Originally posted by laras sati:

    a small penalty..for liar, phoney,treacherous, anddiscriminatory andracist my operausers andadministrators

    I have no idea what it's like to be Islamic and try to coexist in a predominantly Christian enviorment. But please believe me that whatever you have experienced to make you feel that way has and is experienced by others including those of the Christian faith. It's all pretty much the same for everyone. Be at peace.

  19. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    I hope I did nothing wrong nor offended you Sami.

    Everything is just alright :up: But next time I recommend just reporting posts like that not to reply on them in any way. After reporting properly the MyOpeera mods will take care of the rest.

  20. I hope I did nothing wrong nor offended you Sami. This city has become a hub of immigrant naturalization. It has been functioning for sometime and already has in place the needed bureaucratic facilities. Therefore it sees traffic of many nationalities. The bus line I use is often crowded with Muslims and Hindus. I felt I needed to address the issue personally. Thanks for being a friend! :up:

  21. Tricky questions again πŸ™„ It very much depends on the context. If something like that would happen here, I would start looking manufacturer of that bus.

  22. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    Finland is that far from Sweden?

    Yes, in surprisingly many ways. Sweden has been much more open to welcome immigrants and refugees during past decades, thus having also much more serious issues caused by that. Moreover, I guess the anarchists (or what ever you wish to call them) thinks Finland just does not have enough news value aka is much less interesting target as many other countries.

Reply

