Things to consider when buying a new camera

My friend asked my opinion on what camera he should buy. So here are my two cents I want to share with all of you. …

  1. Seriously consider buying a camera that is already used by your friends. If it's a Digital Single Reflex Camera (DSLR aka camera where you change the lenses) then you may get lenses and equipments borrowed from your friends in physical world. But it's also good to have friends in virtual forums who can advice you to use your new camera. But if you borrow lenses and stuff from your friends, make sure you don't cause any damage or you will no longer have those friends!
  2. Consider buying a DSLR camera for what you can get adapter rings for lenses made by other manufacturers. At least for Nikon and Canon there are adapters available for almost any trademarks.
  3. If you have any old gear (lenses etc. bought before digital era) then try to find a camera body that can use those lenses. Nowadays there are adapters and lenses available even for rather rare lenses.
  4. Stabilizers have become quite common even for DSLR cameras. Give serious thought for this because the stabilizer can really save you from many blurred pictures when relatively long exposure used.
  5. Make sure you can get rather noiseless pictures with the camera. In other word the camera should be capable to use rather high ISO sensitive values and also do that without causing noise and graininess.

Updates on this article coming up soon!

Useful links on the topic:
PCWorld, How to Buy a Digital Camera
Our Opinion, Digital Camera Buying Guide

40 thoughts on “Things to consider when buying a new camera

  1. Experiences on Olympus E-450:+ I have good online friends whom to ask tips and tricks with Olympus cameras.+ I already had old lenses, which works rather nicely together with new digital body.+ Quite high ISO can be used and there's still only little noise. Grainy maybe, but not the noise typical for digital cameras when shooting in dim light.+ User interface is very good. No menus available in my own language though. Also the physical UI is excellent. All the knobs seem to be on right places and are easy to use.+ Camera and lenses are small and lightweight.- No stabilizer.- When using the new automatic lenses, the focusing is difficult or even impossible in dim light. Manual focus should be used then, which is quite difficult to select and use. The optical viewfinder is way too bright for reliable manual focusing and the 'live view' on the screen is very clumsy to use. There is a zoom feature on screen, but the level of zooming is too high.

  2. Originally posted by samoht1:

    What is the difference

    I recall the thing called as 'anti shake' on E450 is nothing else but selecting high ISO value and large aperture. The real stabilizer moves either the lenses or the sensor to correct the movements caused by shaking hands.

  3. Found this:

    The E-450 has an ANTI-SHOCK function that diminishes camera shake caused by vibrations when the mirror flips up. This feature can be useful in astrophotography, photo microscopy or other applications where a very slow shutter speed is used and camera vibration needs to be minimized. The interval between the mirror flipping up and the shutter opening can be preset from one second to 30 seconds via the menu.

    So, it really is not the same as stabilizer.

  4. I also recommend labels like Nikon, Pentax and Canon, but I really don't know if they have any cheap models with the stabilizer.

  5. Unfortunately it looks like Olympus E-510 or 520 are no longer sold ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Those models became replaced with 620 and then the prize is immediately 100-200 euros more expensive than E-450. I wonder if there are any cheap DSLR cameras that has stabilizer :sherlock:

  6. Don't let the stabilizer become a deal breaker! You can live without it ๐Ÿ˜‰ I'm not quite impartial here but Olympus E-450 with kit-lenses is a very good deal.

  7. I am thinking the same ๐Ÿ™‚ Other options incl lens are +650euro, cant afford.+ A camera that can take Hothouse is good enough for me :DDo you have same lenses as in my offer?

  8. Sounds very good option :up: But remember, that's no SLR ๐Ÿ˜‰ So, no exchangeable lenses.

  9. No ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Just 14-42 mm, but I have several old Zuiko lenses, which is the reason why I chose Olympus.

  10. If he is a beginner and will do (family photos, and Holiday) suggest a compact camera! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Local store offer:Canon eos 1000D with Tamron 18-200mm 3.5-6.3 XR DiPrice 470euroI am not sure about that Tamron lens… Sounds to cheap.. Any knowledge?

  12. @Michal I am not a beginner, not experienced, some where in between.See second post and see my photo album in my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Olympus uses smaller sensor size for a good reason. They claim it's actually better because that way the light beams coming to sensor comes almost directly and not diagonally. More over it makes it possible to do a little smaller and less heavier bodies and lenses than what other manufacturers have.

  14. Originally posted by samoht1:

    Canon eos 1000D with Tamron 18-200mm 3.5-6.3 XR Di

    I would still go for Olympus E-450. Now just few things to remember. The sensor size is different on Canon cameras and on Olympus cameras. Therefore the difference between 200mm on Canon and 150mm on Olympus is not that big. On Four Third system size used by Olympus means that 150mm is actually 300mm lens compared to traditional 35mm film format cameras. 200mm on Canon 1000D needs to be multiplied with 1.6 to get what it is in old 35mm film format, and it's 320mm.

  15. Thanks Sami, I didnt know that! I was just reading a test of Tamron, and serius destortion at edge from +120mm was reported. This due to the vide ratio lens. So two lenses actualy gives better shots! Olympus still +++

  16. I am trying to join S&T, applied to be friends. But there are no explenation to haw it works…. Wird

  17. Originally posted by samoht1:

    @Michal I am not a beginner, not experienced, some where in between.See second post and see my photo album in my blog

    :doh: I did not know that this is about you ๐Ÿ˜‰ P.S. My opinion: I use a Canon Powershot S5IS and I am completely satisfied. :up: In the DSLR category, I was looking at the Nikon D90 for example. ๐Ÿ˜‰ :bye:

  18. From what I've seen of the local market here, we only have a choice of Nikon and Canon. Other manufacturer's cameras are cheaper, but accessories for those other brands are not available around here. This is something to consider as well. (this will differ from country to country)

  19. Well, that's one thing to consider. Try to seek what brand has most inexpensive lenses ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. :eyes: My local supermarket have E520 with 15-42mm to 470euro… Now looking to see what a 40-150 lens cost.

  21. Some good people here with a wealth of experience in camera work. I myself have been a budding photographer for several years and have just put together a nice consise yet detailed camera guide (http://www.ouropinionis.com/digital-camera-buying-guide/) which aims to help people aviod wasting money on buying the wrong camera! I only wish I had this when I was first starting out.

  22. Originally posted by qlue:

    Sami, could you make that a hyperlink for us please.

    Done :up: And added the Web site on article references as well.

  23. Thanks. That was a good read. :hat:.The more I think about it, the more I realise that I need two cameras. A Compact 'tote along' camera to take everywhere. And a decent DSLR for the good stuff. :yes:.

  24. Exactly what I think as well :up: I just have not yet found good pocket camera and have no money to buy yet another one. Therefore I have to use phone camera for snapshots, which really is no good because of very slow shutter.

Reply

