Quick and dirty tilt and shift effect


I just learned a new trick when reading news from the latest MyOpera member of the week. This so called tilt-shift photgraphy effect is for making pictures look like taken with large format camera or like shooting miniatures with macro lens where the depth of field is very short.

Thanks to Sno I became interested on the subject, and found some pretty easy instructions on how to do the tilt-shift effect on PhotoShop or on GIMP. Pretty cool or what do you think?

26 thoughts on “Quick and dirty tilt and shift effect

  1. I think this browser has it's limits, one being the size of the font, as well as my camera, that being it's auto focus. Rather than change these settings, if that's possible, I'll go back to Opera Mini for the lecture. I don't find that to be too much of a spanking. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh! That works ok not submit then the post button! As I was saying, to parphrase myself: I think it's ironic that I have to switch out of Opera Mini into Bolt to see and interact with your blog. The image is fine and I hope this comment will fly also. I would like to do some reverse engineering about it all. Any way, since I don't have my arc welder up and running just yet, I think I'll go back and follow those links. (I must be blind!I must be blind!I must be blind!I must be blind!I must be blind!I must be blind!I must be blind!) That's enough.

  3. That guy sounds as interesting as I found Helmholtz. Which is by the way very. This just isn't the right time for me to be doing such heavy study. You are a very intellectually stimulating individual. And(I know not to start up with a conjunction) it's getting hot (1:00pm)! :bye:

  4. Hey, this Helmholtz guy was real accomplished. I only know him from this book. I used it as a reference to better understand sound tubes and flute design. I've got a graphite/epoxy fiberglass shakuhachi, you know. :cool:It truely amazes me what I can do while still incapacitated by the heat, in spite of technical difficulties like this battery that's both discharging and sucking the charge out of the charger batteries. I think it might have had an internal short from condensation, a poor connection or worse. The website I located from the info on the battery was being renovated. It wasn't over the photo in my blog though. That's for sure. Damn, I'm verbose! ๐Ÿ˜Ž :jester:

  5. less than a decade ago just carrying a book with me was almost too much. One step at a time and it all adds up. I think I still have to wait another month at least for a kindle though. I've a new axle housing/rear end on order.

  6. What kind of innoculations you think I'll need to travel from Hokkaido to Kamchaka? I'm sure it's not only moon children I'll meet along the way. You think anyone would buy custom made dryshirts or sprayskirts from me after I completed that journey? Why confine myself only to the NorthWest?!

  7. Do you suppose this technique would work on ant farms?I've some pitures of red minors I've been wanting to take and then there's those huge, bull headed soldiers! :yikes::D

  8. It's not just to get large objects to look like they are miniatures. The main goal is to make the main subject on the photo to stand out from the background. That's why in portrait photography it is often recommended to use large aperture to get the background blurred and less distracting. But as showed here, one can get the background (and/or foreground) blurred also on photo editing software.

  9. I was pretty much only joking but thanks for the clarification. The auto focus might make implimentation of this technique real touchy as I've said. I can be taking multiple photos in the same setting and have different focal points as the result due to minor changes in distance to the subject and lighting. It's very frustrating for an outdoor nature photographer like me. Switching back my image settings now… Roger, willco, over and out! ๐Ÿ˜†

  10. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    I was pretty much only joking

    I guessed so, but wanted to clarify anyway ๐Ÿ˜€ But maybe this effect can be used to make ants look even smaller ๐Ÿ˜†

  11. Or perspective of depth in relation to each other. Really though, the variety of insects in this desert, Sonoran as opposed to Mojave or Colorado type deserts, is phenomenal. Seasonal wetness and valley corridors facilitate their spread and persistence. If it wasn't such a major challenge just surviving the summer heat coupled with the monsoons I'd probably do more in terms of documenting encounters both large and small just for fun.

  12. There's also poor man's way to add vignetting into photos if you wish to emphasize something specific in the photo. Just make a small hole into handkerchief or thin plastic foil, then hold that hole close to lens and shoot through it. Here's an example:

  13. Originally posted by serola:

    There's also poor man's way to add vignetting into photos if you wish to emphasize something specific in the photo. Just make a small hole into handkerchief or thin plastic foil, then hold that hole close to lens and shoot through it.

    :up: :up: :D:

Reply

