Midsummer exhibition


I finally had time for a real "photo safari", To celebrate the midsummer, I give you pictures of Finnish summer in the city. …

This summer city of Tampere gives us city bicycles, which can be loaned with small deposit.

What would be summer without a bear… I mean beer πŸ˜€

For many summers it's been rainy during Midsummer but this year we are blessed with a beautiful weather. EDIT: Oh my, I did not notice that black spot on the left when editing the photo :left: So the weather is almost perfect πŸ˜†

Park is full of surprises, although I walk around it twice every day.

Children are having fun πŸ™‚

Even the billboards look summerish in front…

…and behind.

It is truly a nice time of the year to have a walk around the city…

…and have a peek what's happening on the backyards.

41 thoughts on “Midsummer exhibition

  1. Thank you Irczas πŸ™‚ I'm usually too busy and lazy (a strange combination :left: ) to walk around the city and take photographs. Not to mention all the trouble and time that goes for editing and uploading. But when I do have time, then I really enjoy it :happy:

  2. Well, a 'trouble' was actually quite bad choice of words from me πŸ˜€ It's more like relaxing to take photos and edit them πŸ™‚ But time it takes nevertheless.

  3. I'm usually busy and lazy too and I understand but photography encourages me.I'm going back home happier πŸ™‚

  4. Very nice story and photos, I especially like the children's drawings and the billboards πŸ™‚ And just because I am note I understood correctly, are these photos taken in the night?

  5. :no: :no: πŸ˜† These are Midsummer photos, not midnight πŸ˜€ Today in Tampere sun sets 11 PM and rises 4 AM tomorrow morning. Thank you Linda πŸ™‚

  6. Freya, exactly what I thought when I saw those clouds πŸ™‚ Unfortunately it started to rain after all. It did not bother me and my wife, since we were home watching football from TV. But I feel sorry for all those Finns who were celebrating Midsummer in their cottages :awww:

  7. Thank you very much Wertti Originally posted by wierdf:

    you should take more pictures on the street

    Funny that just today I decided this should be my theme for this week :DOriginally posted by wierdf:

    too lazy?

    Yes :awww:

  8. Very nice photoΒ΄s, you should take more pictures on the street, too lazy? I do have my camera in my pocket and do what i have to do and take pictures on the way! :yes:

  9. I'm sorry Sami but I've only really gotten to view this blog on my BlackBerry. It took forever to load the page. Then navigating to this box another eternity. There's no sense in complaining about my eyeglasses in a museum. I'll have to schedule your show to be taken in between now and the beginning of the month. I hope my comments aren't too annoying. :awww:

  10. I think that's why I didn't do it. But, as I was thinking before I got here, again, this is all more than a whole platter of my mother's lasagna. Even I had to stop at some point. I really can't figure out where that fly went! :confused: That bothers me?!

  11. No problem Tom πŸ˜€ For second visit on image rich pages try to switch images off on Opera Mini settings. Well, it may sound funny to visit museum totally blindfolded, but that way you can continue discussion more easily after you have seen the pictures.

  12. This is a very nice blogg. Beautiful pictures and story I am happy to see you have a very nice Midsummer week I am hopeing the rest of the summer will be warm and nice too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ⭐ ⭐

  13. Tack sΓ₯ mycket Eva. Jag hoppas att vΓ€dret Γ€r fint ocksΓ₯ pΓ₯ den sidan av Bottniska viken πŸ˜€

  14. Tom, once again I wonder what could be the problem with Opera Mini on BlackBerry :confused: I have no issues with Sony Ericsson K800i, and I'm using GPRS all the time. Have you tried if Opera Mini 4.2 does any better?

  15. I would say the format of your photos contain an amount of info unnecessary for the communication of the image. I prefer to shoot in a large format and convert/crop to VGA for use on the internet. The picture shows finer detail when reformatted into VGA than if I take it in VGA origionally.

  16. Thanks for the tip Tom but I prefer to keep it this way πŸ™‚ I personally like to check good pictures in bigger size and I wish to give that choice also for others. Unfortunately this is no good for mobile users but sometimes it's hard please everyone.Well, technically I could of course have smaller pictures linked to bigger ones as well, but I'm lazy and it's just so simple to copy paste the code given on MyOpera album margin.

  17. Don't sweat it Sami. I don't really expect you to be working too hard at it anyway. :lol:I have to take all with a grain of salt, as my granma used to say. πŸ˜‰ (new hub works fine so far πŸ˜€ )

  18. It's a wonderful idea you have, I find it very pleasant to browse through those pictures (again, for some) and have a little background for them… like a guided visit of Tampere πŸ™‚

  19. Hi again Sami. Did you just change the format of your blogs? Your initial page loaded just fine but I did disable images to make this comment. I had done some reading and left the font large and noticed the images were rendering clearer than usual so I wanted to checkk that on some ones page. Yours on the intros are coming up crystal clear. That's fine by me. I just don't know, other than maybe the broadband right here, what's to credit. :confused: but :yes:

  20. That was a private message?Anyway the other day I drank about 2 gallons of water and urinated only about 2 ounces. No! My prostate is just fine!

  21. You guys are lucky. The temperature is +44 C day and 40 C at night and I must drink about 17 cups of water daily 😦

  22. Yes! I could paper a wall with one!You know Sami, that if I photo in large format then reformat into VGA the picture quality is greater than if I photo in VGA to start with?Would you like some popcorn? I think they have an app for that. πŸ˜†

  23. Originally posted by Frlmnk:

    if I photo in large format then reformat into VGA the picture quality is greater than if I photo in VGA to start with?

    Very likely so. That's why professionals use as large format as possible to start with. And by VGA you probably mean size of 640Γ—480 pixel image.

  24. What ever my camera puts it into. I have a real hard time these days with anacronyms and settings relative to specific formats. The software used on mobile devices these days does too much reformating on it's own to consistently bracket. :sherlock: I enjoy this interaction, Sami, thanks. πŸ˜€

  25. I've been finding; large format, 1/800 to 1/2000 shutter and telephoto to be fairly consistent. The telephoto tends to isolate the subject much in the same way as a large f stop would. The large format really enables enlarging and close cropping. To me though that's a little weird and I would much prefer a real SLR with a normal range of stops and manual focus. This just happens to be the camera I picked up before entering into Monument Valley last year and was the only choice at the time. :insane:

  26. By all means, I do recommend taking the best out of the camera. At least select largest possible size. You never know when you wish to crop the picture because you could not go close enough the subject. Especially nature photographer should remember to take few shots from far before trying to approach the wild life. If the animal get scared, you still may get something when cropping the first shots.

Reply

