Making pictures more vivid


Today I will introduce a few simple steps how to make a picture look more vivid. To do this you need a photo editing software where you can work with layers. PhotoShop or GIMP will do. …

First thing to do is duplicate the layer. Or you can actually even triplicate it, so you will always have one layer to compare with. Then hide all other layers but the background layer by clicking the eye symbol. Next select the background layer and start to work with it by doing the normal tricks you would usually do, like 'auto levels', lightness & contrast control etc. So, what you are suppose to do is improve the base picture using traditional methods.

Once you are pleased with the background layer, then switch on and select the next layer above the background. Change the layer opacity something like 50% transparent. Then start to play with layer options by starting with something like 'multiply' or 'overlay'. Keep on eye what the results look like, and pick the option that looks best. Change the opacity some more if needed.

Finally you can switch on and off the topmost layer to see what the original looked like. Once you are happy, switch off the topmost layer (original), and just 'save as' or export the picture.

Source: How to create HDR images in Gimp with a single image

23 thoughts on “Making pictures more vivid

  1. I could not open the full images Qlue:"owner's account has reached maximum download bytes for this month"So, till next month… But some of the thumbnail pictures looked very nice ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I just change the settings on my Sony HD20 to vivid. :confused: Doesn't everybody? :eyes:Thanks for updating your blog. I'm having a little difficulty myself with the photos loading myself this morn. This things been acting slow since I started today(just Opera). I figure it's the proxy. Sun just came up. Gotta get movin'.

  3. Thank you Dirk ๐Ÿ™‚ You have very nice pictures in your albums :up: I'll look them through ASAP ๐Ÿ˜‰ EDIT: And I mean pictures that are taken by you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks … there aren't so many taken by me … but I'm sort of collector ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Thanks again for the info Sami. Your blogs are always full of useful tips. I just wish I had more of an opportunity to utilize them. :DDo you do any recording?

  6. It's not quantity, nor necessarily what would normally be considered quality that communicates well an artistic or informative content. I myself find it difficult to keep up with the 365 norm – eg: thunderstorm last night has drying out placed #1 priority. Yet as I sit here there are little miracles that I'm compelled to capture and share. :shrugsmiley: (havn't found that one yet ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. I somewhat disagree ๐Ÿ˜€ Quantity goes hand in hand with quality. Repetition teach discipline and mastery just as well. I have noticed I need to take approximately 10 pictures to get one good shot. Moreover daily discussions with others increase the opportunity to learn something new. It's much more useful than sit alone and stare the wall, hoping the information would somehow hit you by chance ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. But if it's news worthy circumstances you photographing and not a studio setting or landscape that opportunity's not always there. Wildlife rarely sits still long enough for me to get my camera out if I'm not already prepared. Unless that's my total focus that's difficult. I can't let the bottom fall out of my world over my artistic expression, so I use everything I do as such. I realize your genre of photography but why wear blinders to everyone elses view outside of it?(Actually I'm the one who has the blinders on just to make this comment :eyes: )DiVince's thumbnail scketches just popped to the fore of my mind. I've lectured long enough. No charge for the teisho.

Reply

